Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just made and iced these cookies. What a great cutout recipe. I only left it in the fridge for a couple of hours, and it was good to go! I did follow other suggestions of adding more sugar and cutting down the flour. No cracks, nice and evenly puffed and no spreading while baking. Very pleased with the results and will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Dough was very easy to work with. However, I felt the cookies themselves looked perfect once baked, but tasted a little dry. More like a shortbread than a cookie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are great and the dough is easy to work with! This will be my go-to recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These were very yummy and worked quite well for cutouts after being chilled. Here is an idea for those that want to decorate with/for kids, but don't want to use frosting. You can use food coloring put into an egg yolk wash. For two eggs, separate the egg yolk, mix it up, and split it into two small containers (small coffee cups), so that you have 4 containers. Add food coloring and paint the cookies with a brush before you cook them. It is still fun for the kids and does not have quite so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Awesome recipe. I didn't crack a single cookie!! I took the advice of several other reviewers and made it a little thicker and used real vanilla.. amazing.. coming from a working mom who has no time, it was easy to put together, chill overnight, then roll out. it made over 40 cookies for my daughters class. i did top it off with cookie frosting (also from this site) and added some decorations for the visual stimulation of 7 year olds but the cookie on its own is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizzkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is the first sugar cookie recipe I have found that kept it's shape while baking. Made exactly as per recipe. Not too sweet before they're iced, but perfect with sugar sprinkles or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I refrigerated the dough overnight like other suggested. It was very easy to work with. The flavor and texture of the cookies is very good but they do need icing. I baked the first batch for 12 minutes and they were too crispy so the next bath I baked only 6 minutes and they were perfect. My tip is if you are using dark non stick pans to either lower the temp by 25 degrees or bake for a shorter time. You can get crisp cookies if you roll the dough out thinner and more substantial cookies if you roll our a little thicker, I would make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
OMG!!!!!! These are the B E S T!!! Normally I hate, with a passion, to make sugar cookies...but this recipe is so easy and cut wonderfully. Usually the dough falls apart on me between rolling and the cookie sheet, but these stayed solid all the way. I did chill them overnight, so the dough was good and firm. Rolled them to a 1/4 inch like it said with no problem what so ever. Sprinkled with the colored sugar and off to the oven they go. Made balloons (which, yes are probably the easiest...but remember my first statement) for my son's housewarming party, so will be outlining with some royal type frosting for a little more festive look. And yes we did try a couple to make sure all was good...and Yes...Yummmmmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States