Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The best recipe I've found by far. Not overly sweet so that when you ice them you're not puckering over the insane sweetness in some cookies. I make the dough the day before and wrap in wax paper in small work balls. When I'm ready to roll and cut the cookies I rotate between the balls of dough so I can reform the dough in the fridge quickly between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItzAmazingAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
EVERYONE loves these cookies. Try almond extract instead of Vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Orizaba, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just made and iced these cookies. What a great cutout recipe. I only left it in the fridge for a couple of hours, and it was good to go! I did follow other suggestions of adding more sugar and cutting down the flour. No cracks, nice and evenly puffed and no spreading while baking. Very pleased with the results and will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Dough was very easy to work with. However, I felt the cookies themselves looked perfect once baked, but tasted a little dry. More like a shortbread than a cookie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are great and the dough is easy to work with! This will be my go-to recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These were very yummy and worked quite well for cutouts after being chilled. Here is an idea for those that want to decorate with/for kids, but don't want to use frosting. You can use food coloring put into an egg yolk wash. For two eggs, separate the egg yolk, mix it up, and split it into two small containers (small coffee cups), so that you have 4 containers. Add food coloring and paint the cookies with a brush before you cook them. It is still fun for the kids and does not have quite so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Awesome recipe. I didn't crack a single cookie!! I took the advice of several other reviewers and made it a little thicker and used real vanilla.. amazing.. coming from a working mom who has no time, it was easy to put together, chill overnight, then roll out. it made over 40 cookies for my daughters class. i did top it off with cookie frosting (also from this site) and added some decorations for the visual stimulation of 7 year olds but the cookie on its own is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizzkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is the first sugar cookie recipe I have found that kept it's shape while baking. Made exactly as per recipe. Not too sweet before they're iced, but perfect with sugar sprinkles or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States