Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
my first time making cookies, i used thise recipe for valentines. everyone loves it. thanx and i added a pinch of salt to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
These turned out perfectly, I did add an extra teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I used coffee cream (18% mf) instead of heavy cream (it was what I had on hand) I did not take the time to chill the dough, but it rolled out very well and I had no problems transferring the cutouts to the pan. My 7 year old daughter helped me to make these and she had a great time. I took the butter out of the fridge several hours earlier and it was soft enough to spread easily on bread. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My cookies turned so pretty! The dough was really easy to work with. I'm going to make another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rybeccaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly.. chilled for about 3 1/2 hours. This was my first time making cutout cookies and these were super easy! But I agree with others, they were pretty dry. I was so disappointed :( I found that baking them for 9-10 minutes instead of 12-14 helped a little. Not sure if I'd make these again unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I agree - rather dry. I try to half a new recipe so I do not get a lot. Easy to make, easy to roll. cooked up fine. But I agree with the other reviews - dry and kind of tasteless, even with a thick layer of crushed candy canes they had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
They sure tasted great, but the dough was killer to work with. I made a double batch and ended up making half cut-outs and half "snowballs" haha. I am thinking next time if I make the normal size batch it will be a lot easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Excellent basic recipe for cut-out cookies that will be frosted or sprinkled. I suggest adding a little bit of salt to the recipe for extra flavor. Holds its shape well and melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Good and easy recipe. Turned out just like I remember when I was young. The only downfall is they needed to stay thick or they lost shape when you go to cut them out with your cookie cutter. I also kept needing to add alot of flour when rolling and cutting, they were a tad to sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was my first experience with Sugar Cookies, and it was fantastic! The recipe was very easy. I refrigerated the dough overnight, and didn't have any problems with them being sticky. They came right up off the pan after baking and not a single one broke! My kids had a blast frosting them and they tasted great. I'm making more today to give out as holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
i've tried many different recipes for sugar cookies, but this one is my favorite! they have almost a shortbread flavor to them. absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States