Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These are the best sugar cookies ever! I made mine a little thicker than 1/4 inch and underbaked them slightly (just till firm when touched, not brown at all) and let them sit on the pan for a few minutes and they were super soft and chewy and froze very well, really yummy right out of the freezer. I'll never make another suger cookie recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I have been baking sugar cookies for most of my life and these are by far the best. We even did a bake-off this year and in taste tests this cookie won. I did add additional vanilla (total 1 tsp.) and a bit of almond extract (.5 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Echo the above, also allows many rollings - final batch turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
NEVER TRY ANOTHER SUGAR COOKIE CUTOUT RECIPE AGAIN!! I've read and read and experimented and thought I had finally found "my" scc recipe last Christmas...needless to say, I second guessed myself, read the reviews and tried this one immediately with the sugar cookie frosting. I finally have found the perfect sugar cookie! I live in Arizona and only had to chill the dough about 30 minutes and did double the vanilla amount. I even added pure almond extract to one batch. These were actually so much fun to roll and cut-out. No difficulty batch after batch, excellent tasting, and most importantly these are still soft days later! I did only cook them 12 minutes and would even try 11 minutes for small cut-outs. I look so forward to my kids being old enough to help me with these during the holidays. This is forever our sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe because every batch was consistently perfect in appearance. The cookies came out of the oven almost exactly like the shape of the cookie cutters used and they did not burn or spread like past recipes I have tried. The chill time was short and not much extra flour was needed for rolling them. In my opinion the flavor was somewhat bland. Frosting of course changes this and all in all it's a great recipe that I will use again. I couldn't eat these plain though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blythe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Best sugar cookie I have ever made. I made them for a Ladies Christmas dinner, and everyone raved. They even asked for the recipe....could not be easier; just go the Allrecipes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was a pretty good cookie recipe! I didn't have Heavy whipping cream so I used 5% cream. I did not over cook it- rather I undercooked it- 10 min. max so that the cookie would be a little soft. I did what someone suggested- rolled it out on parchment and then slide the paper on cookie sheet. I didnt get 6 dozen - I got about 3-1/2 dozen, if that. I also with held some of the doe rolled it like a log and plastic wrapped it and put it in the freezer for an hour- then sliced it and baked it and it turned out great! The cookie rose nicely and will be easy to frost it and decorate it. My 2 sons loved it! No need to buy them at the store!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Yummmmmmyyyyyyyy !!!! These cookies are awesome, the first batch I made they were good but could have used a little more of a sugar taste so I made my 2nd batch using 1 1/2 cups sugar & much much much better. These are definitely staying in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Woops - I just wrote the super long review with all the changes!! I forgot to write that I added a few drops of Almond flavoring too! just enhances the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Loved this recipe. I chilled it for two hours and it was perfect for cookie cutters. I did tweak it and add a second teaspoon of vanilla. That made a difference and they came out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States