Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
LOVE IT! I have tried many sugar cookie recipes from this site just within the last few days - this one is the easiest by far for managing cutout cookies. I didn't have one break (and there were some delicate ones - a cowboy boot with a spur). I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla, refrigerated the dough for about 35 minutes before working with it. While rolling the dough, I sprinkled sugar on top of wax paper and also on top of the dough while I was rolling with a floured rolling pin. These cookies are not super sweet, which is why I give them a little boost with the extra sugar while rolling them out. This will be my go-to sugar cookie recipe from now on. I have always hated baking sugar cookies because of the constant struggle with the dough consistency. These were GREAT! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
These are very, very good cookies--if you add either more vanilla, or in my case, I added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. almond extract. The cookies are very moist and cake-like. And they were easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I loved this recipe. So easy. used in conjunction with a sugar cookie glaze that had almond extract in it. I did this for Valentines day and I had nothing but compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESwanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Great recipe! Came out fluffy and soft! Perfect for the kids to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
not bad but lacked some flavor, maybe should add more vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
A very easy cookie that tastes great. I was pleased. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
not sure what i didn't do right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I didn't have cream, so I substituted evaporated milk and it worked great. My favorite thing about the cookies is that they stay soft. I don't like crunchy sugar cookies and these stay soft and cake-like. Not quite as much flavor as I would prefer, so next time I may add almond flavoring or more vanilla. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is a great cutouts recipe. The dough was not too sticky, and the cookies kept their shape while baking. Based on other reviews, I doubled the amount of vanilla, and I'm glad I did. This is not a sweet cookie - probably why some reviewers did not like the taste. But I prefer this type of cookie, since I almost always add icing or decorative sugar, and sometimes the level of sweetness can get out of control. I will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is my go to recipe for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States