Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
OMG! This is the most wonderful sugar cookie recipe. It was easy to make,cut out perfectly, and took about 12 minutes to cook. Everyone in my family loved them. I am baking some to give out as gifts this Christmas for my neighbors and friends. Loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Best Sugar Cookie Recipe Ever, I do this recipe every year. It is easy and I never chill the dough before using I just roll and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Wonderful! I completely avoid baking, especially cut-out cookies. SO many bad experiences. I have tried many, many sugar cookie recipes in the past, all ended in frustration as I tossed the recipe in the trash. This year I promised my kids I'd bake again, and I went on a new recipe hunt. I found this recipe, poured over the reviews, and gave it a try with little hopes of changing my attitude. I was so happily surprised. This is, by far, the best roll-out sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried. The dough seemed sticky as it came out of my mixer, but after chilling, it was the easiest dough I have ever worked with. It rolled like a dream from start to finish. I made two double batches. The first, I refrigerated overnight. The second, I refrigerated just a couple of hours. Both rolled out exactly the same and baked up the same. Just make sure they are chilled thoroughly. I separated the dough into smaller section and made the lumps of dough kind of flat after I wrapped them in plastic wrap. I laid them directly on the glass shelves in my refrigerator to chill. The dough needed little flouring and released from my plastic cutters wonderfully. The cookies taste great. I cut the cookies 1/4" as recommended, and I baked each sheet of cookies for exactly 12 minutes, just until the edges began to turn brown, and they were perfect. I decorated them with a sugar cookie glaze (also found on this site), sprinkles, and piping, and they taste even better. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I've been searching for the Best cut-out cookie recipe for years, and I think I've found it. ??. Doubled the vanilla, as recommended by others, and added 1/2 t salt. Only chilled 2 hours. Made half the recipe and was not standing there all night cutting out cookies. Love that they're not too crisp, nor too chewy. Maybe perfect. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This dough is super easy to work with, but the cookies' flavor is lack-luster, even when sprinkled with sugar, and a little on the floury side. I will still make these because the dough is so easy to work with and I want to ice the cookies with a flavored icing. Mine cooked up nice and soft and held their shape well. I used parchment paper instead of greasing the sheets. Finally, I was pleased that the yield was accurate--I got 75 cookies with various shapes of 3-inch cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is my new go-to recipe for cut out sugar cookies! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
these cookies tasted SO good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Best sugar cookie ever! Meant to be used with frosting or sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I've found so far. The dough was easy to work with and didn't get all sticky when it started to warm up when I was working with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made these sugar cookies yesterday for my daughters' Valentine's Day tea and they turned out great! I am not a fan of making cut out cookies normally because the dough is either too sticky or cracks or the shapes lose their shape, etc, but this dough erased all of those problems for me. It was an absolute breeze to work with, baked perfectly and held its shape beautifully. I am not sure why this dough came out sticky for some reviewers, because mine was only refrigerated for one hour and was not sticky at all. I rolled the dough out between two sheets of parchment paper, but honestly probably didn't even need to, and did not use one bit of flour or powdered sugar for rolling, because I just didn't need it. My cookies baked in about 10 minutes and came out firm but chewy not crunchy, if that makes any sense. lol I did make a couple of modifications: I used butter-flavored shortening in place of the butter, substituted half and half for the heavy whipping cream (because I didn't have any) and added 1 tsp of salt and some extra vanilla. I do not think any of those changes would have dramatically affected the way the dough turned out, though, so I am still giving the original recipe 5 stars. This is now my go-to for sugar cookie cut-outs. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States