Sugar Coated Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I would like to update my review. I have made these numerous times and they are well received. I have continued to use the two egg whites although I am not sure if it is necessary or not. I use 2 tsp. of water and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. They turn out wonderful. This is an outstanding recipe. I do make a slight change in the directions. I whip my egg whites in my 5 quart bowl from my Kitchen Aid Mixer. I add the pecans and stir. I then slowly add the sugar mixture right into the bowl with the pecans. I mix after each small addition of sugar. I find it mixes well this way. I have tried the ziploc bag method and find it is not necessary. All in one bowl works well for me. Another update as of 10/2009. I have continued to make these for parties and gifts. I get many requests for the recipe. In the past I always used sugar made from sugar beets. Recently I switched to buying sugar made from sugar cane. I have to say I prefer these made with sugar from sugar beets. It seems like the sugar from sugar cane melts more so the pecans look a bit different. They still taste okay, but I will be buying sugar from sugar beets again for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Wow, wow, wow! Earns all 5 stars easily. Even better after they cool off because they get much crunchier. Your house will smell great! Made the recommended modifications: (1) 2 egg whites for more moisture (2) used 1 T. vanilla instead of water - this makes for a very strong scented egg white mixture which made me nervous, but the final nuts taste perfect (3) 1 tsp. cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
783 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Great recipe for holiday snacking. Definitely use 2 gallon-size ziploc bags with this recipe: Put the egg mixture in 1 bag and the sugar mixture in the other. Add the pecans to the first bag to coat, then transfer them to the 2nd bag and shake. Much easier to thoroughly coat the pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
587 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I'm so impressed with this recipe that I went out and bought 5 pounds of whole pecans (at over $9.00 per pound!)and plan to put them in the 20+ baskets I give out at Christmas along with cookies, jams, and my famous lemon bread. Does anyone know how long they will last? Can they be frozen? Thanks! ** An update....the original recipe is the best for the most part...I tried it with vanilla...better with water.....also tried with brown sugar.....white is better. Two things I did do....used 2 egg whites and almost twice as much cinnamon. I got so many requests for the recipe. I will include these nuts in my baskets every year from now on. Easy and soooo tasty! Oh, and the kitchen smells wonderful while they are baking too...BTW, they freeze beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I used 1 cup Splenda in place of white sugar and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This is a great recipe. It was a bit easier for me to put the egg white in a gallon ziploc bag and the sugar mix in a bag and put the pecans in the egg white and flip it around and then dump them in the sugar and flip it around. A lot less clean up that way too. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. Very easy to make. I don't usually like sweet roasted pecans, but my husband wanted these to put on top of ice cream. The salt in the recipe is what makes it so good. I also added just a little extra cinnamon, and baked them on Reynolds release foil with no oil, it worked great. Easy clean up, just tossed the foil and I was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This recipe really is all that and worth the price of pecans. I halve the recipe when I make it but use an entire egg white, substitute vanilla for the water and use a bit more cinnamon than called for. I make sure that the pecans are all toasty and dried out before removing them from the oven because they are crunchier that way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Great Recipe. I kept a batch for myself and took the rest to mom's house for Thanksgiving dinner. 2 lbs of these pecans were GONE in a matter of hours! I actually substituted Splenda for the sugar to cut down on calories, doubled the cinammon and used real vanilla extract instead of the water. The result was FABULOUS. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I have been making these pecans for at least 30 years but use 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Some reviewers add vanilla; I find that masks the taste of the pecans too much. If you’re having a sticking problem, put 1 Tablespoon butter on a large baking sheet with sides. Place pan in the preheated oven to melt butter. Remove from oven and spread butter over entire bottom of pan. No need to drag out the Kitchen-Aid or use plastic bags, just wisk 1 large egg white and 1 Tablespoon of water until frothy, this is enough liquid to coat 1 pounds of nuts. Add the pecans to the egg white mixture and, using a rubber spatula, keep folding and stirring the pecans until completely coated. Add nuts to bowl with sugar mixture and again, using a rubber spatula, keep folding and stirring the pecans until completely coated. When the pecans are properly coated, there will be no sugar mixture left in the bowl. Be sure to spread pecans on the buttered baking sheet, in a single layer, and don’t forget to stir every 15 minutes while baking. I bake mine at 300 degrees F for 1 hour and have never had a problem with the nuts burning. Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container and store at room temperature. Will last several weeks, if they aren’t eaten before that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States