Sugar and Spice Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe as written for me was no good. I should have omitted the flour. I followed the directions to a T and what I got was bacon lightly coated in flour with no sweetness whatsoever. I'm sure this is a good recipe w/o flour because I've had bacon with brown sugar wrapped around little smokies and that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This recipe is good but I tweaked it just a bit!!! I mixed together 2 C Dark Brown Sugar, 1 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper, 1 1/2 tsp. black pepper and 4 tbls. Dijon Mustard. I slathered the mixture on (each slice) 2 lbs. thick sliced bacon and refrigerated it overnight in a gallon sized zip topped plastic bag. The next morning, while the oven pre-heated to 400 degrees, i laid placed parchment on two large cookie sheets and placed a rack on top. I spread the bacon on the racks and baked for 15 minutes; turned each slice over and baked an additional 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Watkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Yummy! 2nd time added 2T chili powder, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp ground coriander, and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper, only 1/2 tsp of black. Sweet and Spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This went by quickly. During the holidays, I also do the same thing with leftover ham. Its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made Sugar and Spice Bacon for V-day breakfast. I happend to have maple bacon on hand but I think it made it even better. I think this will easily become a family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanilla Sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This bacon gets rave reviews, regardless of where I take it. I did take someone else's recommendation to bake on the broiler pan - clean-up was a snap and the bacon was even better. While it was still hot from the over, I sprinkled a little extra granulated brown sugar on top - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
really good not as much sugar as other recipes and still a great sweet taste done one batch as recipe stated, one with no black pepper added cinnamon, and another subbed in red pepper. all were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I have never used flour either, but do put in about a tablespoon of dry mustard. It cuts the sweetness just a bit and adds "interest."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Pretty good. I think less bacon and more flour would be better. I couldn't taste the brown sugar which was disappointing, so I add more and through it back in the oven. It's very crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States