Sufganiyot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
oy vey.. these are just like my bubbe used to make. Wonderful slightly warm with extra sugar sprinkled on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JABERNAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These were great, especially warm. I can't make them to take anywhere yet though, until I learn how to pronounce it. Thanks. :-)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Once out of the oil, I rolled these in a bowl of powdered sugar....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
These were very tasty, and an excellent way to use up sour yogurt (yogurt way past the expiration date that hasn't gone moldy yet). I didn't want to deep fry them so I dipped them in oil and then rolled them in cinnamon sugar (1/2 c white sugar plus 1 T cinnamon) and baked them at 375F for 12 - 15 minutes. They came out very airy and weren't dense at all. Plus not deep frying them made them pretty low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Amazing! I lived in Israel until I was 12. I was skeptical at first, but the first bite send me back to my childhood. I used to get these at our local store during Hannukah. Traditionaly these are injected with some strawberry jam in the center and rolled in powder sugar. If you dont have self-rising flour: For 1 cup self-rising flour use: 1 cup all-purpose flour 1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This recipe is a good one. The only thing I would do is make them smaller and put more sugar in. Some of them came out a little doghy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enna Miklos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Photo by FoodHippie
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Excellent! I used 4T white sugar instead of 2T white and 2T vanilla sugar, and vanilla yogurt instead of plain, because that's what I had on hand. I filled them with strawberry jelly and rolled in powdered sugar--so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I love real french beignets (not the NOreleans style), and Jewish doughnuts are the only thing that tastes closest! My Israeli friend made them for me for Christmas/Hannukah-she swore I would love them and she was right, they were fabulous! Oh, I love them! Thanks Aviv,for the self-rising sub., and Jesusistheway for the lowerfat version, and M. Levy for the recipe! (It is a good way to not throw that not too old yogurt away..)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Yummy. I love jelly donuts and these were awesome. My local jewish bakery makes them sooooo good and this came close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

How to Make Cronuts, Part II

See how Chef John prepares craze-worthy cronuts!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States