Sufferin' Succotash Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
We made this exactly according to the recipe, and let it marinate for 3 hours before sampling. It was pretty good ...nothing spectacular, just good. But then we let it marinate another 24 hours -- and it was truly amazing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was delicious! I made a couple of changes based on availability, and it still came out well. I used half the amount of oil just to cut down on the amount of fat, then added 1 tablespoon of water to thin the dressing. Because making this was a spur of the moment decision, I used one can of Niblets corn instead of fresh. The white beans I had on hand were cannellini beans (white kidney beans. Overall, a great side dish. We'll have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I prepared this for 50 guests this evening and it was a huge hit. No left overs. I'll be making this again. This is an ideal lodge salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samjguess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I made a double batch of the salad and it turned out excellent. However, to inject a little humor, I decided to use frozen corn and didn't know how much frozen corn equaled four ears. Researching the net I found that the average ear of corn contains 511 kernels and each kernel weighs approximately 0.38 grams. Therefore the total weight of the corn would be for four ears, 776 grams or 27 ounces. That's what I used and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is SO easy and good. I used olive oil instead of veg. oil and Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Completely simple and fast to make, yet very tasty and pretty. A definite go to salad for summer menus and with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scootir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
pretty good! i brought it to a party and people really liked it. i didn't have fresh corn available so i had to use it from a can...i think fresh corn would have been better. also, next time i will throw some cilantro in there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Made this beautiful salad. Added in a pinch of south african smoked seasoning blend! Yum! My new fresh salad to take everywhere! The corn so fresh and crispy. This sale id right on! Thank You Chef John, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Prepared this for dinner tonight with pulled pork barbeque sandwiches - it was amazing after 3 hours of sitting in the marinade - can't wait to see what it's like by tomorrow night at dinner. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Great salad! Everyone like it that came over for our backyard BBQ dinner. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States