Sue's Oatmeal Macadamia Nut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I refrigerated the dough for 24 hours and it is still a big sticky mess. No way it can be cut. It's very liquid. The cookies spread out in a thin sheet that covered my whole cookie sheet. In spite of being so thin it took forever to even begin to get done. I like soft cookies so usually will go a little under the time. I added about 8 minutes as it was still batter at 10 minutes). I measured everything precisely. Lots of times I guess on salt or vanilla but I actually used a measuring spoon as this was a first time recipe for me. If anything I was expecting my batter to be dry as my eggs were very small. I did not melt the shortening or do anything like that. I thought the taste was just okay. One thing that may have hurt - I chopped my nuts in the food processor so they were in mostly small pieces. I put in more than 1/2 c. also. None of this should have made it thin. I couldn't really taste the macadamian nuts at all unless I came across a big piece. I think next time I'd use a tried and true oatmeal cookie recipe and just add the nuts to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great, but a little too sweet. How refreshing to find a macadamia recipe WITHOUT white chocolate! These are great cookies--easy to make and well behaved on the baking tray! I did find them too sweet, so am going to try them again with less sugar...will let you know how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This cookie recipe is rich. It is so yum! I made them for my son's batting coach. He told me he liked oatmeal cookies with nuts. He will be the taste tester for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
these spread way too far out and thin. Will need to add 1/4 c. extra flour next time I try these. They were thin and almost transparent this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These came out amazing! I did change a few things. I made it with honey wheat organic flour and I did not roll it and put in fridge I baked them immediately. They are soo yummy! bringing them to Christmas dinner tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
A friend of my husband had requested me to make him oatmeal macadamia nuts, which led me to find this recipe. I changed a few things based on other reviewers' comments and what I thought would make these better. First, I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening instead of the full cup shortening. I also used 3 large eggs. I upped the vanilla extract to 2 teaspoons and added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I did also end up adding about a tablespoon of milk to make the dough a better consistancy. I made drop cookies instead of freezing them. The guy I made these for absolutely loved them. I, who am a sweet lover, thought they were a bit bland and would probably increase the cinnamon if I made them for myself. I have to give 5 stars even if I did make some changes because Oatmeal Macadamia Nut cookies aren't very popular and I would've been in a rut without this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY23315

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I tried this recipe this past Christmas for my Mom's Christmas cookie give-away. She put them on her tray to take to her office and my phone did not stop ringing for the recipe! They are amazing! One of the best cookie recipes that I have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Billy Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was a very nice recipe that was simple & easy to make, and the results were very much enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These were dry and lacked flavor. The macadamia nuts didn't seem to go right with the oatmeal either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Maybe it's personal preference. I enjoy macadamia but when put with oatmeal cookies, was a bit too much for me. Was little too sweet too. Would cut sugar by 1/4 each next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States