Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I thought this was awesome chocolate sauce, but did not have the the consistency of hot fudge sauce at all. It turned out thick but not thick like fudge. Taste was fabulous though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Excellent sauce. I might cut out one cup of sugar the next time. I added two large handfulls of chocolate chips which added to the sweetness so less sugar would have worked better. I did blend it well and it turned out smooth like silk. It makes a fair bit so refridgerate the leftovers. I reheated mine in the microwave and it turned out just like it did when fresh. My husband, who rarely eats ice cream, loaded up a bowl once he tasted this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Normally wouldn't rate five star if I made modifications but this recipe is THAT GOOD and should not be missed. Sue's Hot Fudge is FIVE STAR HOT FUDGE if modified per other reviewers: Cut sugar to 2c. Add a handful of semi-sweet chocolate (Ghiradelli or Nestle Chips). Literally EVERYONE who we served this to raved about the fudge and asked for the recipe - the ultimate compliment if you ask me! This fudge, and a spoon, could solve world peace. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very tasty, but more like a thick chocolate sauce than hot fudge. It tastes to me like melted no-bake cookies. Per other reviewers, I upped the cocoa to about 1/2 cup and decreased the sugar to 2 cups, but it was still not quite as rich and dark as true hot fudge sauce. I was hoping for a cheaper alternative to store bought, and adding a huge brick of dark chocolate makes it a lot more expensive. Still, it is really good, and I have been sneaking to the fridge to get out spoonfuls. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I doubled the recipe. And then, in order to make a healthier version, I substituted a can of coconut cream and added just enough coconut milk to make two cups. I also put the cooked mixture in a blender for 2 - 4 minutes at the end which made the sauce much smoother and thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe is great, here is why I gave 4 stars . I also had the same caramel taste and texture. But im not complaining it was still fabulous. I added some.coffee granules to it. I liked it bit wont do it again. This recipe is defiantly worth a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The recipe as is is four stars. However if you triple the chocolate it is 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Leicester, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I've made this many times and it's always a hit with guests. It's a quick, easy and perfect over soft served ice cream (you can buy Dairy Queen vanilla ice cream by the quart)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
WOW this is a great hot fudge recipe! Infinitely better than anything you can buy at your local supermarket. Not sure how people are getting a "caramel" taste to it or why it's too sweet... maybe some are accidentally using sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk? I followed some suggestions from reviewers and used a little bit more butter (I think I put in 2.25 sticks) and upped the cocoa to 1/2 cup (we used Hershey's dark cocoa for our own taste preferences). REALLY delicious and not to sweet, no caramel taste or texture in the least. I will say that blending it is a really important step, even if it already seems pretty smooth. I was in the middle of a class when I made it, so it accidentally cooled on the counter for 2+ hours before I blended it. Putting it in the blender took it from still a bit thin to this perfect hot fudge consistency. Can't explain how it works, but it does - make sure you don't skip that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
YUM!! I made this tonight for my family and it was more than delicious. Thank you so much. Just as a side note, I put 2 cups sugar and 1 cup stevia. No one could tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States