Sue's Baba Ghanoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I really missed the smokey flavor that I'm use to in Baba Ghanoush. I thought it was on the bland side. Here are two ways I found that can add additional flavor. The first way is to just grill or saute slices or the eggplant before blending. Make sure you cook it until it is a dark brown. The other way (best) is to bake the whole eggplant with skin and all until the outside is chard. Then remove the skin and blend. The fist gives a light smokey flavor and the second method gives a full smokey flavor that just adds so much to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Perfect traditional recipe! This tastes just like the baba ghanoush at my favorite lebanese restaurant, where the owners are FROM Lebanon, where Baba Ghanoush comes from. :) Only thing I'd add is maybe some chopped parsley and pine nuts to garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dread Pirate Paramour

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Increased the Tahini to 3 tbls, reduced the olive oil to 1/6 cup, and used 1 tsp garlic. Pureed in a blender, it was creamy with a hint of garlic. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made this exactly as stated. The garlic was overwhelming. I think next time I would try only 1/2 of what is called for. I could not get around the garlic taste (and I love garlic) so sadly I had to toss it. I gave it a 3 star beccause I think if adjusted right it may be good. I am a big fan of hummus and white bean dip and the concept here is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
So easy and very good. But, like a previous reviewer, the garlic was overwhelming. And I love garlic! I will make this again but cook the garlic slightly in the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
this reminds me of the baba ganoush that my grandmother made while I was growing up... AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This was a tad too tangy or maybe bitter for our liking. I would make it again next time I had an eggplant to use up, either scraping out the eggplant seeds and/or using less lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Made exactly as stated and the garlic was much too much. I was disappointed. I kept adding more salt to cut the garlic flavor. No one in my family would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this recipe this afternonn with our fresh eggplant! It is delicious, I did after skimming over the reviews add a few drops of liquid smoke to the eggplant when I microwaved it and let it cool. It added a nice subtle flavor. Thanks for sharing it's my first attempt to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HexapodaFarm
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Yum. Didn't have tahini so I used tsp peanut butter and about two Tablespoons of sesame oil. Probably would be better with tahini but yummy just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States