Sucre a la Creme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
My whole family grew up with this (although we call it Sucre Creme), since my dad's family is French Canadian. My grandmother always made this on the stove. Trust me when I say that you will either love it or hate it. Sometimes she would throw in a few chopped walnuts, but usually we enjoyed it plain. Also, sometimes it wouldn't work, or sometimes on purpose, she would have it runny (about the consistency of honey) to put onto toast. Man, this stuff brings back memories & it is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Super! As a French Canadian from Quebec I've been looking for this recipe. Tasted just like I remembered it. I think I've made 8 batches over the summer. Thank you for a little taste from home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINMOM21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I have a 900 watt microwave and microved it for 4 mins, stirred, and put it in for another 4 mins. Other then that I followed this recipe to a T and it turned out great. Loved the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I just completed the recipe and it's awsome. I only cooked the sugar mixture in my 1200 watts microwave for 9 min. I followed the recipe and my sucre a la creme is hard but not too hard. Make sure to use a big microwave container, mine did overflow a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
YUMMY!!! I love these! I did mine a little different, I did it on the stove with a candy thermometer and boiled until it reached 240F. I also reduced the white sugar to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup maple suryp, SOOOO GOOOOOOD. when I was mixing it after boiling it started getting stiffer after about 4ish minutes so I just poured it out in a pan and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
AMAZING!!! I cooked it 8.5 min on a 1100 watt microwave. Stirred it at 6min and then 4 min. Blended on low 4 min then on high for 1 min. Poured in greased dish and topped with crushed salted almonds. Absolute BLISS. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was my first time making this, I doubled the recipe and put it in the microwave for about 20 minutes, stirring thoroughly every five minutes. I let it cool for about 5 more minutes and then used the hand mixer for about 8 minutes. It was immediately starting to set, but when I tasted the mixture, it was still a little grainy. It set within fifteen minutes and I suggest to stir it a little longer. It kind of reminds me of caramel fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Yummy! I didn't have heavy cream so I substituted 3/4 cup 1/2% milk and 1/3 cup real butter. I also didn't wait the 5 minutes cooling time because I missed that in the directions and it still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This stuff is delicious, and tastes almost exactly the way my grandmother's did. A couple notes though, the same rules that apply to making fudge apply to this. It won't work if it's too humid out, remember that it takes patience and lots of time stirring, and it's going to take the enamel off your teeth it's so sweet. Maple syrup works really well in this, take out some of the white sugar and remember that you're adding a liquid so it's going to take a little longer to cook and solidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baie Verte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was incredibly easy to make and tasted awesome! It is very sweet and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States