Sucre a la Creme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
AMAZING!!! I cooked it 8.5 min on a 1100 watt microwave. Stirred it at 6min and then 4 min. Blended on low 4 min then on high for 1 min. Poured in greased dish and topped with crushed salted almonds. Absolute BLISS. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was my first time making this, I doubled the recipe and put it in the microwave for about 20 minutes, stirring thoroughly every five minutes. I let it cool for about 5 more minutes and then used the hand mixer for about 8 minutes. It was immediately starting to set, but when I tasted the mixture, it was still a little grainy. It set within fifteen minutes and I suggest to stir it a little longer. It kind of reminds me of caramel fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I did exactley what the recipe said but it still has not worked out right and it been in the ref for 12 hours and the freezer for half an hours! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I just completed the recipe and it's awsome. I only cooked the sugar mixture in my 1200 watts microwave for 9 min. I followed the recipe and my sucre a la creme is hard but not too hard. Make sure to use a big microwave container, mine did overflow a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Not sure what I did wrong since the recipe is extremely simple, but my fudge turned out quite runny - just the opposite of another review. But really, who can go wrong with something this sweet? Suggest possibly adding maple syrup to the mix to give it that unique flavour and also in keeping with the Quebecois theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'm not sure what I did wrong. The taste is good but it was practically impossible to cut into even pieces (it just kept breaking). Kinda tastes like maple sugar candy, but not sure that is what it is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Super! As a French Canadian from Quebec I've been looking for this recipe. Tasted just like I remembered it. I think I've made 8 batches over the summer. Thank you for a little taste from home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINMOM21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
My whole family grew up with this (although we call it Sucre Creme), since my dad's family is French Canadian. My grandmother always made this on the stove. Trust me when I say that you will either love it or hate it. Sometimes she would throw in a few chopped walnuts, but usually we enjoyed it plain. Also, sometimes it wouldn't work, or sometimes on purpose, she would have it runny (about the consistency of honey) to put onto toast. Man, this stuff brings back memories & it is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
When Cecille D. says "sugar fix," she *really* means it! This stuff is easy and delicious, but VERY sweet. Try shaping it into small balls and rolling them in chopped pecans--YUM! I didn't mix my first batch long enough, so mine came out just a little grainy in texture--I'll watch that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This is super easy to make but I am still trying to figure out the perfect time with my 1500 watt microwave. First time, I cooked too much - second time, not enough but the taste is still fantastic. Just working on the consistency of the fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Mcnicoll, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States