Succulent Grilled Hickory Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
The only way I've found to prepare pork chops that results in a tender and juicy chop rather than the usual tough and dry chop. The hickory chips boost the flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Smelled great but not much flavor (even though I marinated the chops overnight). The hickory taste was there but not much else. However, the chops were moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Excellent marinade. The white wine really adds nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
We have a huge pecan tree in the backyard that we grill with. This was good but something stood out too much. Maybe the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was too bland for us. Sorry won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These were awesome. I changed a few things. Instead of white wine, I used chardonnay because that is all I had. I cut the sage in half, added a little liquid smoke to replace the hickory chips since I didn't have any, and cooked on a propane grill. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I have to say it, that hubs is the grill MASTER and always turns out beautifully grilled and juicy meat, pork chops included--and he never marinates them. So it's not the marinade that makes them tender and juicy! Marinade only penetrates a little more than the surface of the meat. He tried this recipe tonight to indulge my wanting to do something a little different. While he grilled his usual perfectly grilled chops again, neither of us could taste the marinade, but the hickory flavor was distinct and delicious. I don't know that I would bother with the marinade again since it uses ingredients you can't taste anyway and hate to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I let these marinate for four hours. We have a gas grill so I added a bit of liquid smoke to the mixture. These came out moist and tender I think more in part the way they were grilled than the marinade. The liquid smoke gave the obvious smoky flavor but not much else was going on here. A nice change of pace, but there are too many other pork marinades on here to do this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I let the pork chops marinate for 6 hours. The pork chops were very tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I would highly reccomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuiper55

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States