Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Quite good. An excellent dish for Harvest Season, when you can get everything fresh. I added some dried basil & red pepper flakes, which worked well. Next time, I'll add some squash, as that was part of the traditional Succotash made originaly by Native Americans. Corn, beans & squash - the "Three Sisters", as they were reffered to. This a great version that can be adapted in many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I'm used to succotash with corn, tomato and grn beans, this was a nice change. Hubby loved it, 1 year old loved it, 3 year old did not. I WILL make this again. Used 16 oz frozen limas, 2 whole tomatos, 2 cups frozen corn. Only used 2 Tb butter, and added some garlic. Made in ONE pot. YUMMY, thanks Michele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjpyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Great recipe! Used fresh corn because that's what I had. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Simple and delicious! I didn't have fresh veggies on hand when I first prepared it, but canned worked well (2 cans each of lima, corn, and diced tomatoes drained). Definitely a keeper for a quick and satisfying side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bequita84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I had no idea it would taste so good! Except I made these changes to suite my own personal tastes: only 1 stick butter, just eyeballed the salt and pepper, added onion powder and garlic powder, I actually forgot to put the sugar in so next time I'll try it w/. Also, only use 2 tomatoes. And I had a small bag each of frozen corn and lima beans but this recipe was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. Since my husband requested succotash, and I am not crazy about limas by themselves, I thought I'd give this recipe a try. We had frozen our own lima beans and corn over the summer, and I just estimated all the amounts with a can of tomatoes and about 2/3 cup butter. We also added a little marjoram for seasoning. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very good! Got my husband to eat his lima beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Added a little more sugar and some lawry's seasoning salt and this was perfect. I cooked it Wednesday before Thanksgiving just in case i needed a replacement. The family ate it on Wednesday. Thanks, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I made this recipe with fresh corn, frozen butter beans and canned tomatoes. It was great! I made it all in 1 pot, and I also added some onion powder and a little paprika. It was great! I made it for 3 servings and wish I'd made the whole recipe, since I have the feeling it will only get better after sitting overnight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon J.
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I love love love succotash. This recipe was great, except for the large amount of butter it called for. I left the butter out. I added 1 t of chopped dehydrated onions, some thyme, and fresh ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States