Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
A half cup butter to cook the limas. Another half cup butter to cook tomatoes. Twenty minutes to make tomato tender? I just ...no. The mind boggles. Not enough butter for my taste. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trza Yvette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this with frozen Lima beans & frozen corn. Turned out super! I even ate the left overs as lunch the next day! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyAnne
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
easy and yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Delicious!! I typically don't think a person should rate a recipe that they did not follow, but I had a few garden fresh ripe tomatoes and a pantry full of canned veggies. Looking for something a little different. I used canned corn and Lima beans, and only 2 tbsp. of butter. Same amount of salt and sugar. It was wonderful. Will definitely fix this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
tried this and loved it! I used 6 fresh corn off the cob(including scraped cob milk and the sugar was not necessary! Only used about 1/4 cup butter to cook up corn along with water I cook beans in and 1 1/2 Cup frozen fordhook lima beans Added 1 pint of quartered grape tomatoes at finish. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
As written this has way too much butter and a little too much sugar in it for my taste. I cut the butter in half, next time I think I'll cut the sugar in half too. However, with those changes we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I used frozen vegetables, and messed up a few things like adding the corn when I was supposed to be simmering the tomatoes, regardless of all that this is a great, quick, and easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Excellent succotash. I decreased veggies to about 12 oz each and used frozen corn and limas, barely cooked. Didn't have any fresh tomatoes so we used 1/2 can tomatoes with chilis, drained. The succotash was colorful, very tasty and pretty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This was my first time making succotash. I made half of the recipe. I hate lima beans, so I used small bites fresh green beans, I had fresh tomatoes but no fresh corn. I used shoepeg instead. I cooked the green beans first in the butter, then took them out. Added the rest of the ingredience except the sugar.Also added diced zucchini Tastes wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I'd give this recipe four stars but there is way too much butter. I used 2 Tbsp. butter and 2 Tbsp. soft margarine which is enough for a buttery taste but butter could be omitted entirely as suggested by another reviewer. Great combo of vegetables. What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States