Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I used shelled edamame in place of the lima beans -- Not because I don't love limas, because I do, I just didn't have any. It turned out great with the edamame. I can't wait to try it with limas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Yummy Yummy! I hated peeling the tomatoes, maybe I'll just use canned next time. I scaled the recipe for 4 servings, and used Splenda instead of sugar. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I wanted to make this ahead for Thanksgiving. I thought it sounded wonderful when I was reading it. It did turn out wonderful. I cannot wait to serve it to my guests. I do have a suggestion, however... Make it when fresh corn and tomatoes are in season. I used fresh corn and tomatoes but had to buy frozen lima beans. I doubled the recipe and with the vegies being out of season, spent about $20.00 just to make it. That's ok this one time - it's a special occasion and everyone is going to love it! I had to find out how to skin the tomatoes, because I didn't know. You wash them and remove the stem. Boil a pot of water deep enough to cover the largest tomatoe. Have a container with ice water with ice floating it it ready - also enough to be able to submerse all of the tomatoes you plan to do. Cut a small shallow x on the bottom of each tomatoe. Put them in the boiling water, doing 1 at a time, for 30 seconds (really, just 30 seconds), and them put them in the ice water for 5 minutes. They came out beautiful! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This is a great side dish! I cut this in half since it was just for two of us. I used frozen lima beans and canned corn, which worked just fine in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I made this with all canned veggies and it still turned out awesome! Used seasoning salt instead of regular salt tho. And as others reviewed, use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and several times since and everyone loves it! (I cut way back on the butter.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PocketCheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
OMG! I used all fresh local produce and real butter! I only made half the recipe and wish I had made the whole thing. SO GOOD! Like another reviewer I did not use two pots. Cooked the beans about 10 minutes and then added the tomatoes for 10 more. Then the corn for about 5 I couldn't wait any longer to eat it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I wanted to make something with Lima Beans so the ingredient search showed up this recipe. The recipe looked rather bland, but I decided just to try it anyway. I'm glad I did! Here was my version since I had nothing fresh on hand. Since I was feeding 6 people I used 3 cups frozen lima beans, 2 cans diced tomatos (with juice), 2 cups of frozen sweet corn, 1 stick of butter, seasoning salt, pepper and a touch of onion powder to taste. I simmered the limas first with the stick of butter until tender (15-20 min), added tomatos, corn, 2 packs of Splenda and seasonings. Simmered on low for another 15 minutes and Voila! Every last bite was thoroughly enjoyed by all ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roopville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Loved it!!!! Especially now that the veggie truck has come back for the summer. I got all fresh veggies and hubby and I were in heaven! Thanks so much...we'll be making this quite a bit this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was VERY good. I made it this past weekend to see whether or not I wanted to include it in my Thanksgiving dinner offerings this year. Decision: YES! I used frozen Baby Limas, frozen Niblets corn and fresh tomatoes. I did not include garlic as others suggested (at least not this time; too many "flavors" in T-day already) but I probably will next time (and there WILL be a next time). I think the tomatoes make the dish. Opinion? Don't even think about leaving them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States