Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I made this last night and my boyfriend and I loved it! However, though I used the same ingredients, I scaled down the recipe by half and then only used half of the amount of butter than was called for. I started one cup frozen lima beans in 1/4 cup (half a stick)of butter in a skillet over medium-low heat for about 10 min, then I added two peeled and chopped tomatoes, the sugar, and one cup frozen corn and simmered it in the same pan for about another 20 minutes. I fail to understand why two pans are needed to prepare this dish. Still, the flavor was sooooo good and the vegies retained their texture (except for the tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Loved it!!!! Especially now that the veggie truck has come back for the summer. I got all fresh veggies and hubby and I were in heaven! Thanks so much...we'll be making this quite a bit this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
For an EASY and LOW-FAT version, I used canned lima beans, canned tomatoes, and canned creamed corn. I omitted the butter, salt, and sugar, and just added some garlic powder instead. This was great hot or even cold (served as a summer salad dish)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Works fine with canned diced tomatoes. I added a little garlic for the heck of it. We like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I wanted to make this ahead for Thanksgiving. I thought it sounded wonderful when I was reading it. It did turn out wonderful. I cannot wait to serve it to my guests. I do have a suggestion, however... Make it when fresh corn and tomatoes are in season. I used fresh corn and tomatoes but had to buy frozen lima beans. I doubled the recipe and with the vegies being out of season, spent about $20.00 just to make it. That's ok this one time - it's a special occasion and everyone is going to love it! I had to find out how to skin the tomatoes, because I didn't know. You wash them and remove the stem. Boil a pot of water deep enough to cover the largest tomatoe. Have a container with ice water with ice floating it it ready - also enough to be able to submerse all of the tomatoes you plan to do. Cut a small shallow x on the bottom of each tomatoe. Put them in the boiling water, doing 1 at a time, for 30 seconds (really, just 30 seconds), and them put them in the ice water for 5 minutes. They came out beautiful! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I used shelled edamame in place of the lima beans -- Not because I don't love limas, because I do, I just didn't have any. It turned out great with the edamame. I can't wait to try it with limas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made this for hubby as he loves it. The kids and I aren't big fans, but he gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Yummy Yummy! I hated peeling the tomatoes, maybe I'll just use canned next time. I scaled the recipe for 4 servings, and used Splenda instead of sugar. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States