Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Quite good. An excellent dish for Harvest Season, when you can get everything fresh. I added some dried basil & red pepper flakes, which worked well. Next time, I'll add some squash, as that was part of the traditional Succotash made originaly by Native Americans. Corn, beans & squash - the "Three Sisters", as they were reffered to. This a great version that can be adapted in many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I'm used to succotash with corn, tomato and grn beans, this was a nice change. Hubby loved it, 1 year old loved it, 3 year old did not. I WILL make this again. Used 16 oz frozen limas, 2 whole tomatos, 2 cups frozen corn. Only used 2 Tb butter, and added some garlic. Made in ONE pot. YUMMY, thanks Michele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarah Pyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Great recipe! Used fresh corn because that's what I had. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Simple and delicious! I didn't have fresh veggies on hand when I first prepared it, but canned worked well (2 cans each of lima, corn, and diced tomatoes drained). Definitely a keeper for a quick and satisfying side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bequita84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I had no idea it would taste so good! Except I made these changes to suite my own personal tastes: only 1 stick butter, just eyeballed the salt and pepper, added onion powder and garlic powder, I actually forgot to put the sugar in so next time I'll try it w/. Also, only use 2 tomatoes. And I had a small bag each of frozen corn and lima beans but this recipe was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. Since my husband requested succotash, and I am not crazy about limas by themselves, I thought I'd give this recipe a try. We had frozen our own lima beans and corn over the summer, and I just estimated all the amounts with a can of tomatoes and about 2/3 cup butter. We also added a little marjoram for seasoning. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very good! Got my husband to eat his lima beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Added a little more sugar and some lawry's seasoning salt and this was perfect. I cooked it Wednesday before Thanksgiving just in case i needed a replacement. The family ate it on Wednesday. Thanks, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I made this recipe with fresh corn, frozen butter beans and canned tomatoes. It was great! I made it all in 1 pot, and I also added some onion powder and a little paprika. It was great! I made it for 3 servings and wish I'd made the whole recipe, since I have the feeling it will only get better after sitting overnight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon J.
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I love love love succotash. This recipe was great, except for the large amount of butter it called for. I left the butter out. I added 1 t of chopped dehydrated onions, some thyme, and fresh ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States