Suburban Cowboy Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
As many have said, this is a sweet chili. I just couldn't get over the strange combination of flavors that didn't really work for us. The young kids didn't like it either. I thought it was weird and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYHOLLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this for a potluck at work and everyone loved it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is definitely a keeper. The second time around, to make this a bit more heart-healthy, I poured off about half of the bacon grease before adding the ground beef and followed the directions from there. I also used the low-sodium chili powder to reduce the amount of salt in this recipe. This goes into my personal collection -- many thanks to the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Really liked this one. Because I know how much spice we like, I just used enough to our tast. I used bacon that I made myself and my own beans. Very yummy!!! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This tasted great and looked nice! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
great dish. Today I made this dish the second time, and it didn't taste as great as the first time. Maybe it's the chili seasoning, but one thing I always remember is that it's spicy for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I'm not into sweets so it didn't appeal to me personally, but I had a few bites and it wasn't bad. Reminded me alot of sloppy joes. Hubby loved it and said he'd give it a six, and he hasn't given a five to anything on this website so far. If you like baked beans and/or sweet meats, I think this will be a definate do over for you. I have to say the chili gave it some kick for me and the meat/beans for my old cowboy. I don't see it, but hubby says next time to try and make some hash browns to pour it over. I'll give an update in a few weeks. It will go into the rotation per his request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My husband still loves this recipe, though I definitely kick it up a notch with a touch of some red and white pepper, a little mustard powder and touch of molasses. I like this meal since I watch closely what I eat now (diabetes) and let the hubby eat the biscuits. The beans fill me up without triggering my sugar. That touch of molasses doesn't even register for me. I do substitute a nice smoked turkey bacon and use lean ground beef - organic beans, to keep it healthier. Most recipes can still be good, even when done healthier, and I think this is a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Great basic recipe that can be tweaked to personal taste. I browned some diced yellow onion with the ground beef. Also, I thought it was missing something, so I added some spicy yellow mustard and a little barbecue sauce. Husband had to fend for himself for a couple of days, and he had it over steamed white rice one day, and in hoagie rolls sloppy Joe-style the next. Thanks, Cat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Pretty good...I doubled the recipe and its makes a ton so beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States