Substitute Phyllo Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I tried this recipe a couple days ago and it worked wonders. I used it for some chicken roll-ups which I fried in oil. I would use this as an equivalent for frying a tortilla for a mexican style dish. It's less greasy that using a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Excellent. I put the dough through a noodle maker instead of strechting it by hand. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Thank you for this recipe. I have been trying to find the already made in our area & cannot find it. This will be very helpful to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bridgeport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crooksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Girl! First time to use this and make it for Baklava-it was wonderful! This is also the first time I had not changed the recipe slightly. You have a winner! It is also fun to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This reminds me of the recipe my mom used to use when making her Macedonian cheese burek. She would use old clean sheets specifically saved for this purpose and roll out countless phyllo snakes full of tasty feta/egg mixtures. I remember 3-4 large sized pans baked on Saturday mornings. And the crispy flaky texture was amazing. Puts the store bought stuff to shame and I could never understand why anyone would use store bought. This is more versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I used this recipe to make Baklava. I don't know what Baklava looks like, tastes like, and I've never cooked with Phyllo Dough either. My finished product tasted delicious though so 5 stars for the recipe!!! I can never find Phyllo Dough in the grocery store so this recipe helps out alot. ***UPDATE*** I finally cooked with phyllo dough and I must say that this is SO MUCH BETTER! I'm never going to use the packaged stuff ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
20/04/2009 I`ve never bought Phyllo dough because I have problems to find it in my country. I used this recipe. I don`t know how Phyllo dough must be, all I can say, this recipe makes very good dough. 5 stars ****Update***Finally I found Phyllo and I have to change the rewiew. I realized this is not a phyllo dough substitution. It is imposible to roll and stretch the dough so thin as phyllo is, so you will get the wrong dough and texture in final dish. When you bake with phyllo you put a few layers together. It is imposible to do with this dough. Even if you are able to stretch this dough very thin without tearing, the layers will stick together, so you will get almost one layer after baking. The texture wasn`t flaky at all. I realized this recipe can't be used for Baklava and other Arabic sweets or Greek recipes with Phyllo. I tried this dough for other recipes without success too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I like this recipe. I do not know how this recipe calls it for cooking it this long, my phyllo would have been burnt to a crisp. Maybe it is just my oven lol. (new oven too) They came out all right. I wanted to add some vanilla extract the second time, it ruined the consistant of the dough and would not stretch. I guess this is one of those recipes you need to be careful how you change things up a bit. Maybe it was the alcahol in the extract. good recipe nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by james81
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I used this recipe and rolled it out and cut it into squares, I put the ingredients for shepard's pie in each of them and pinched the dough at the top so it looked like a ball with a bow on top. it turned out great. my whole family loved it. I served it with a little gravy. thanks for the recipe. 5-5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Try _anything_once

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
i give this 4 stars as it came out great but doesnt have that flakey texture phyllo has. also i had to add about a cup more flour as the 1/3 cup milk turned out to be a bit much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States