Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I just served this frosting on my baby boy's first birthday cake. It was a BIG hit, and in my book is perfect--thicker than whip cream frosting and lighter than buttercreme. A great fresh flavor and not too sweet. I used full-fat cream cheese because the store i went to didn't have reduced fat. This will become my standard frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
569 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
We used this frosting on the American Flag cake made with blueberries and strawberries. We also used original cream cheese because that was what was on hand. We took it to a BBQ and everyone wanted the recipe! VERY sturdy compared to other whipped cream frosting recipes. My husband who used to be the cake decorator at our local Safeway was VERY impressed. I would use it as a dip for fruit as suggested also, YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Wasn't what I was looking for as a frosting, but we used it as a dip for fruit and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Super easy to make. I cut the recipe in 1/2 for a batch of cupcakes. I used powdered sugar, but next time will try white sugar as the recipe calls... wasn't as sweet as we would have liked. Would be perfect for a dip for fruit or as a binder for fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This recipe gets ONE star, only because the flavor was decent. It was NO WHERE near sturdy - more like a pudding than frosting. Such a let-down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This icing is simply delicious! However, it was not as "sturdy" as I had hoped. Perhaps because I was using a hand mixer instead of the "whisk attachment" mentioned. I will try this again, but will use a chilled bowl, beaters, and won't soften the cream cheese as much as I did. I do have to say that my daughter and nephew completely ignored my cake, and just licked the frosting off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
OK as a fruit dip but a bit tangy from the cream cheese. I'd use it on a 9x13 cake with berries but not on other cakes. Not what I was looking for in a whipped cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I was asked to make a wedding cake for a friend on which the frosting was not too sweet. She absolutely loved the flavour. As for sturdiness, I added a package of gelatine powder just before decorating as the cake would be sitting in the fridge overnight, and out on a table for a few hours. Definately a good alternative to supersweet buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
663 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Wow! I made this for my child's birthday strawberry cake. Totally STURDY. I decorated it on a cake tray and put a glass dome over it.I drove a half hour from home with the AC blowing on it in the front seat (buckled in the seatbelt). It totally held up perfectly. I used chilled softened cream cheese. Everyone was raving and 2 people were fighting over the last piece. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was really good! I just made it for my son's birthday cupcakes and it was so easy and not too sweet. Instead of using a mixer, I used my food processor (chopping blade) and it was nearly done by the time I finished pouring the cream in! The processor really cut the time down and is powerful enough to turn your cream into butter, so don't let it go too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States