Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Delicious! Not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I am VERY new to cooking and my step-son wanted a "homemade" birthday cake (since his mom is a chef, this was a scary thing for me to say the least). I went searching for an easy icing recipe and found this. Since I didn't have time to do a trial run, the morning of his birthday party was my first attempt... it came out GREAT! Very easy to do and just let the mixer do the rest! It did take a little longer then I thought it would for it to get a good peak but once it did, it was perfect - and tasted delicious!!!! Would totally recommend this one for anyone - the newest cook or the expert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I read so many of the reviews, and found a lot of different advice for tweaking the recipe. In the end, the only advice I took was to use a chilled mixing bowl, and to use regular cream cheese instead of reduced fat. I have a vintage mixer, and if it can pull this off by following the recipe to a T, I wouldn't bother listening to the rest of the advice - you could suffer my fate and become increasingly confused, which is why I decided to ignore the other tips. I found the structure plenty stiff enough. The flavor was AMAZING (tasted like cream cheese, but MUCH lighter and creamier), I got an insane amount of compliments on the taste of the frosting. For my own personal preference, I left out the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHWmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Sooo Delicious!! I had to take into consideration the majority of reviewers suggestions (since I had only exact ingredients I didn't want to have to run to the store again!) So the original recipe is perfect, its just the prep that needs alteration. After freezing my bowl/mixer for my kitchenaid for 20 min; I whipped the heavy cream with 1-2tsp of cream of tartar. Set the whipped cream in the fridge while I beat together room temp cream cheese, vanilla, and almond. Finally folded in the whipped cream with some maple syrup. End result: a delectable frosting for my pumpkin cupcakes, had everyone who tried ask for the recipe! I can't wait to try with other cupcakes/cakes/or as a fruit dip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love this recipe! I made this twice now and each time it turned out great! I made it yesterday to put on my daughter's birthday cake, I made a 4 layer yellow cake with strawberry filling. I made the whip icing the first time with granulated sugar and it work fine, but yesterday I made it with powdered sugar and it was even better! I added a pack of unflavored gelatin and left out the almond extract and it was wondeful! I was able to pipe with it to make a beautiful birthday cake. This is a keeper! Everyone loved it, including the workers at Red Lobster!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Fantastic - reading the words of warning in other reviews, I beat the cream cheese (not reduced fat), sugar and maple extract like crazy and then put the bowl and mixer end in the fridge to chill and mixed gelatin with water per pkg directions and waited for that to cool. I then beat the chilled cream cheese with the gelatin till mixed and slowly added the cream in a fine stream then beat till peaks formed. Wow, it turned out perfect and tastes delicious and easily covered my spice chiffon cake. I made a bit of buttercream for piping. I will use this for icing cakes as it isn't as sweet as buttercream and is light and delicious. I would not attempt to pipe anything with it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was an awesome recipe!!! I added 1/2 a tsp of cream of tartar since some before me wrote it tended to fall, it worked great! Everyone loved it, in fact I will be making this again for my 4 year old's birthday next month. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Jakositz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
the title of this frosting got my attention because i was looking for a light whipped cream type frosting but one that was sturdy enough for piping on my cupcakes because my go-to buttercream recipe is really sweet and i needed something different for a coworkers bday cupcakes i was making her. i am a little disappointed in this recipe because i followed it exact and "sturdy" it was not. i had to put my cupcakes in the fridge because i was scared the frosting woud run. i even added 3/4 cup of powdered sugar to the mix. i am going to try this again with a little less whipping cream and maybe cream of tartar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Perfect yummy frosting! It is like whipped cream, just holds up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Did not hold for me, flavor was good, I whipped it with a hand mixer on highest setting, in a chilled metal bowl with an icewater bath under it the whole time, I whipped till stiff. left it covered in the fridge for 8 hours, it was flat when I returned, rewhipped it, but it ended up soft. I will try gelatine as read in other reviews next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States