Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This wasn't for a new person trying to make a frosting. Now that I am looking elsewhere on the internet I see much better recipes that explain to whip the cream separately. Chill the bowl and beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I enjoyed this - used Neufchâtel cheese to shave a few calories (may as well) half sugar and stevia powdered extract . . . easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this recipe just as directed and it was heavenly. I'm not even a big frosting fan! Just take care not to over-whip in the final stages or you'll lose some of the sturdy fluffiness. If you do happen to over-whip and end up a bit too runny, try adding just a touch more cream and whip again; however, you can't keep saving the recipe this way. Stop whipping as soon as you notice the frosting forming sturdy peeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This whipped frosting recipe is the BEST! I have no idea why so many people had problems...I made two different batches of this icing one after the other and they both turned out perfect. I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT for the almond extract. I used Vanilla Butternut flavoring instead and it was delicious! I used this frosting on a black forest cake, icing in between 3 layers and then covered the cake in the icing and piped detail and left it in a 50 degree room overnight and it held up awesomely! I was using Wilton­'s Whipped Icing Mix purchased from Wal-Mart or Michael's Craft Store and it stands up okay, but the taste isn't the greatest. Your Icing recipe was sweet, but not too sweet, it was completely perfect and I am forever grateful for this life saving recipe! I will use this for my main icing from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Amazing, especially after it sits for a day. The almond extract starts to penetrate the cake making it moist and so delicious!! My kids, husband, everyone who tries it, absolutely loves this frosting. Great on cakes, even better on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was wonderful! Made this for my daughter's cupcakes. I admit I was afraid to try this since baking is not my forte. The 1-3 star reviews almost scared me away but I read through the rest for tips and have to say thank you to everyone who was successful! I had ZERO problems making this icing and it tasted like cool whip! Here is what i did, and if I can do it, ANYONE at any level can do this: Heavy whipping cream. Pretty sure this is a must I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese I ended up chilling the metal bowl and mixer blades overnight since I was afraid the icing would collapse. Confectioners sugar (not sure if this is a must but other cream cheese icing recipes call for confectioners so I decided to stick with it). I creamed the cream cheese, sugar and extracts in a separate bowl first. I put the heavy whipping cream in the chilled mixing bowl in the freezer as I worked on the cream cheese part of the recipe. Then I cleaned off the mixer blades (I am not fancy and only have a 3-speed hand mixer) and brought the chilled bowl out of the freezer and whipped the heavy cream to a cool whip consistency. I "folded" the cream cheese into the bowl with the whipped cream, and I use the term "folded" very loosely here since it wasn't combing the way I wanted it to, so I took the hand mixer to it at the lowest speed to combine. I was able to get this light, fluffy icing into my piping bag with a large star tip and it went onto the cupcakes very easily. The icing never fell, it kept
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SamanthaHensch
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This worked well for a kid's birthday cake - he doesn't like buttercream so needed some sort of stable whipped cream frosting for a Minecraft-themed cake. The frosting tasted great (not too tangy from the cream cheese) and piped out of a star tip very well. My only complaint is that adding different gel coloring and mixing the color in could make the frosting a bit runny. Solved the problem by only mixing two colors and adding them immediately after making a batch of frosting. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Oh yeah!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Listen this recipe works as advertised, the problem is that some people shouldn't attempt to go past boiling water for Ramen noodles:( even that's a stretch for some. There is a small amount of knowledge required to make this and that is the tendencies of heavy cream/ whipping creams. The failures I read are all due to the simple fact over over-whipping to the point of butter conversion. Hence the cottage cheese consistency. I tested the recipe as a learned chef and I give this two thumbs up. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It was wonderful! Was a big hit with my hubby because it wasnt to sweet!I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States