Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Finally tried it today with regular cream cheese, and it worked out great! The texture was good & sturdy for frosting my cake. Can't see it being good for piping. The flavor was lightly sweet which I enjoy. Not tangy at all. Topped it with fresh raspberries. A hit to be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Calistoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I use this for every cake and or cupcake that I make. It is also great as a fruit dip or to dip anything in. My family loves this Frosting! I add a little bit more almond extract than it says though. I also sometimes add food coloring and it turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe is great! It had a tad bit too much almond taste for me, so I added half the amount and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
OH my god, this is the most delicious thing I've ever eaten. I honestly don't think I will ever make any other frosting ever again. I used full fat cream cheese and doubled the recipe to frost 24 cupcakes and had way too much left over. I over-frosted those 24 (ahem.. 23... I had to eat one) and put the rest of the frosting in a tupperware to bring along - because people will dunk. It's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
So i give this 3 stars because it tasted good.....it was not sturdy at all. It was liquidy and i whipped this well. It melted off my cupcake so i had to make buttercream frosting instead...it does taste good for maybe fruit dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I have to make a sheet cake for our Women's Day and I baked a small cake and used this recipe, it was what I was looking for but the only thing it was a little runny but it worked very well, I have to find out what else I can use to make it a little stiffer. I have to put decorations on the cake and I don't want it to look to runny. I would give it a five rating because it is not too sweet like the butter cream, I will be using this recipe for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Just made this and it's absolutely awesome. Husband and son agree! Read reviews where some said it was "thin". Would recommend they use regular, full-fat cream cheese. That's what I used and mine whipped up like whipped cream and kept the fluffy texture as I iced the cake. I did refrigerate it - hey, it's got uncooked cream cheese and whipped cream in it - that stuff goes bad if it's not cooked, I don't care what they say. I don't care for almond flavoring so just increased the vanilla to 1 1/2 teaspoon. I'll be using this for my granddaughters birthday cake - yellow cake, this icing, fresh sliced strawberries, kiwi, and mandarin oranges on the icing and between the layers. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Too much almond flavor and too much cream cheese...could hardly taste the whipped cream. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I read a few pages of reviews and don't understand why people are having trouble with this frosting. No, it's not stiff enough to pipe, but I wouldn't expect it to be without a stabilizer of some sort. And no, somebody got confused between cream and egg whites--cream has enough fat in it that everything does NOT need to be spotless (though clean is always a good idea), and cream of tartar has nothing to do with cream, either. It's truly no-fail, though! I let my regular cream cheese sit in my steel bowl for maybe 1/2 hour--not long enough to soften much, but enough to be able to beat in the sugar & extracts. Once that was a little fluffy, I added all of the cream at once (straight out of the refrigerator) and beat with my hand mixer, starting on low to mix everything well, then went to high for maybe a minute and I had lovely stiff peaks. It tastes great on strawberry cake, and I bet it'd be good on any cake that has enough of its own flavor--I wouldn't try it on a white or yellow cake. It has a very mild cream cheese flavor. I think that the addition of almond extract tones it down some, so if you use just vanilla, you'll taste the cream cheese more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My new go-to frosting. Everyone loved it! I did not make any changes except half the ingredients because I only had 1 cup of heavy cream. This was the perfect amount to frost a 9x13" cake. It kept its shape overnight and was just sweet enough without being too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States