Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I just made this whipped frosting and although I was skeptical (first time using my stand mixer!), the results were great, fast and delicious! Thank you, Jo! 1) CHILL YOUR MIXING BOWL FIRST in the freezer before using. This allows the metal to keep your fats cool while whisking at a high enough speed to not liquify. 2) To make a stiffer frosting - a very simple adjustment is all you need: Use only 1/2 cup of white sugar (rather than 1 whole cup as the recipe states) and 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar/powdered sugar. I literally took my cup measure, poured in the white sugar about halfway and filled the balance with the powdered sugar and then followed the directions as normal. This gave me the stiffness I wanted without changing any flavors or adding anything else AKA easy peasy. SO: STIFFER VERSION OF THIS WHIPPED TOPPING = 1/2 CUP WHITE SUGAR & 1/2 CUP CONFECTIONERS SUGAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent, easy and tasty. I made it to top a lemon blueberry cake and it was perfect. I did not have almond extract and used powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very good on my strawberry shortcake cupcakes. Used powdered sugar & had to use extra to help make it pipable. Yummy! Hubby's favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I got my hopes up for this one. Followed directions thoroughly, even added comments from the author of this recipe. It collapsed and now looks like cottage cheese. Very disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Stith-Maza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
My new go-to frosting recipe! So light, and so much easier to spread than buttercream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is delicious! I made it the night before, and piped it onto my cupcakes 3hrs. before consumption the next day, with no problems (though they were waiting in an air conditioned room). I did use my paddle attachment first on my Kitchen Aid Mixer for the cream cheese, sugar, and extracts. Then, once that was creamy, changed to the whisk attachment, and added the cream. Once the cream was stiffened up I used a spatula by hand to get the stuff off the bottom mixed together a little better, put it in a Ziploc bag, and then into the fridge. I was afraid it might get runny overnight, but it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Stene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the best frosting I've ever had. Very light & holds up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Finally found an icing my husband likes! I do think adding the cream very gradually is the key. Did add a bit of extra confectioners sugar to make it more stable. First attempt and it was a hit, but the other reviews helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Loughlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I haven't tried it yet, but I do know from experience that regular cream cheese holds much better than reduced fat. I have tried to use reduced fat in regular cream cheese frosting recipes, like a cream cheese/buttercream frosting for carrot cake, and reduce fat cream cheese does not hold. It makes it runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made this for cupcakes and for a fruit dip. I read the reviews and a lot of people complained about not being able to use it for piping so I out the bowl of my stand mixer in the freezer for about 45 mins before I made this, I followed the directions exactly, it seemed to be looking pretty good, I piped it and in between piping I kept the bowl in the freezer. After about an hour at room temperature it started to lose the shape of the piping. It didn't get watery or dip or anything but definitely don't try piping with it unless you put in some sort of stabilizer. I had a lot of the frosting left over so I froze it and like 3 months later I frosted it and served it as a dip with fruit and everyone liked it and kept asking for the recipe. Would work great on cake or for dips, not so much for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States