Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I have been searching for a light whipped frosting that will hold up without refrigeration. THIS IS IT!! Delicious, light, and sturdy. I decorated a cake and left it at room temp overnight just to see, and it was still perfect the next morning. Also tried a chocolate variation by adding a little cocoa with the sugar. That too, turned out beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
924 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I was asked to make a wedding cake for a friend on which the frosting was not too sweet. She absolutely loved the flavour. As for sturdiness, I added a package of gelatine powder just before decorating as the cake would be sitting in the fridge overnight, and out on a table for a few hours. Definately a good alternative to supersweet buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
712 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I just served this frosting on my baby boy's first birthday cake. It was a BIG hit, and in my book is perfect--thicker than whip cream frosting and lighter than buttercreme. A great fresh flavor and not too sweet. I used full-fat cream cheese because the store i went to didn't have reduced fat. This will become my standard frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
609 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This turned out great! It whipped up nice and fast, was fluffy and held up nicely. The only change I made was that instead of almond extract I used lemon extract. You could use any flavor you'd want with great results, Im sure. I will definitely be using this recipe again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made this recipe for my daughter's Strawberry Birthday cake. My husband loves buttercream frosting (super sweet) while I prefer a light whipped cream frosting (not too sweet). By adding more sugar and using more vanilla instead of the almond extract (we don't care for that flavor) it was the perfect! Without the extra sugar and vanilla (minus the almond extract) it tasted too much like cream cheese, so I just kept adding sugar and vanilla until I got the flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is my second update: PLEASE NOTE: I submitted this recipe and want to make sure that people understand what it is and what it isn't. This is frosting -- it's NOT meant to be piped like buttercream icing. If you can get it to the consistency that will pipe -- great -- but my own experience is that it will probably "break" if beaten that much. Secondly, my comment about "leaving it out" doesn't mean to leave it out overnight or for a long period of time -- dairy shouldn't be left out long term, as many reviewers have noted. The comment was meant to compare this frosting to standard whipped cream frosting which starts to "fade" very quickly and can be problematic. If you're set on trying to use this as decoration instead of just the frosting I meant it as, you may want to try adding some Confectioners (XXX or 10X) sugar. That should help to stiffen it . Also, using chilled beaters and bowls is always a good idea when working with dairy. Hope you enjoy! Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Easy, great flavor, and fairly sturdy. It didn't melt, but it wasn't the best for piping. When piped, the details didn't come out as sharply as buttercream. I had to add a package of whipped cream stabilizer to stiffen it up some more. However, this would work fine as is for regular icing. I also wouldn't let this sit out for hours because it still has cream cheese and cream, which can spoil if left out too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is and EXCELLENT whipped cream Frosting!! The texture is very stable and the taste is heavenly! I used a hand mixer with regular beaters,full fat cream cheese and granulated sugar. It was a cinch to make. I put in a few drops of green dye and it was a big hit at my St.Paddy's party! Thank you Jo-Lynn! This will be my cake icing forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was really good! I just made it for my son's birthday cupcakes and it was so easy and not too sweet. Instead of using a mixer, I used my food processor (chopping blade) and it was nearly done by the time I finished pouring the cream in! The processor really cut the time down and is powerful enough to turn your cream into butter, so don't let it go too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
We used this frosting on the American Flag cake made with blueberries and strawberries. We also used original cream cheese because that was what was on hand. We took it to a BBQ and everyone wanted the recipe! VERY sturdy compared to other whipped cream frosting recipes. My husband who used to be the cake decorator at our local Safeway was VERY impressed. I would use it as a dip for fruit as suggested also, YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States