Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Whew!! Words can't describe how nervous I was making this for a pink cupcake dress I offered to make for a good friends daughter's 1yr. old Bday party tomorrow. Yes..tomorrow! lol I have never made a whipped cream frosting! After reading many reviews, I made sure everything was chilled. I even placed the miking bowl in a larger bowl of ice! Slowly pouring the heavy whipping cream, I felt less nervous. Long story short, I am now a huge fan of this frosting! Great tasting & fluffy as I hoped for! I meant to take the advice of a few I saw, using the 2tsps. of creme of tarter. Yes, I made a double batch..pretty gutsy I thought. Better too much than not enough. :) When I finished & was happy with the results, I looked over & saw my cream of tarter sitting there! I didn't need it anyway! The cupcakes are now in the fridge waiting to be assembled in the morning. Plus, I have extra that will make a fantastic fruit dip! I worried for nothing. :) TY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaJoni
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Needed to make cupcakes for my daughter's school fundraiser that is once a month called Cupcake Friday and I just loath heavy cupcakes. I wanted something light and fresh tasting and I love whipped cream toppings! It was a challenge to find a good one that would hold up and even braver of me to try this recipe on the night before. Wow! Its fresh, light and melts in your mouth! With a super light chocolate cupcake its like eating a flavored cloud! I will use this recipe for frosing from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This frosting is wonderful! It's truly a combination of a whipped cream and cream cheese consistency. I made this recipe as it's written, except I used full-fat cream cheese. Unlike one of the top reviewer's claims that this doesn't stiffen, mine turned out exactly as I expected; stiff. Perfect. Delicious. Amazing. Did I say, fantastic? *I didn't allow my cream cheese to soften, so perhaps doing so would have caused the recipe to not stiffen. My cream cheese was mixed immediately coming out of the fridge. I whole-heartedly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this to frost an angel food cake that I made, and it was delicious. Both my husband and my mother-in-law loved it, and she even asked me for the recipe! It's great for those who like cream cheese frosting but want something a little lighter, or just a little different. I did what other's recommended and put my mixing bowl and beater in the freezer for about half an hour, and the cream in the freezer for about ten minutes. I whipped the cream cheese, sugar, and extracts together until very smooth first, and then slowly added in the cream while my mixer was on high. It was pretty easy to frost with, and I even did some simple piping with it! I left the cake out for most of the day after decorating so the piping did get a bit droopy, but it was still pretty, and probably would have stayed nicer it I had gone ahead and refrigerated the cake. All in all, a very delicious and easy frosting, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Best frosting EVER. I used it to ice chocolate cupcakes. Can't wait to try it on Red Velvet Cake. Light & not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
It taste really good but it's not sturdy at all, too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Great frosting if you are looking for something lighter than buttercream but still has flavor. Make sure cream cheese is at room temp, I also stuck my heavy cream in the freezer for a few minutes before making the frosting. Was able to pipe rosettes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Super yummy and easy to prepare, my two toddlers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia Reyna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VVGROVER
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Delicious! I used the method recommended by others where you beat the cream cheese, sugar, and extract together 1st, then fold in the whipped heavy cream. I used a few tablespoons of raspberry jello powder in place of some of the sugar to get a pretty pink raspberry frosting for my daughter's sweet sixteen cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Worked super well as written. Finally a frosting that holds its shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 782) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States