Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
We all LOVED this frosting, which was also easy to make. Our family prefers to avoid the sickeningly sweet butter cream frostings and this was just perfect. Since finding this recipe, I've adapted it many times over, changing the flavors of the extracts. Most recently I substituted 1 1/2 tsps of peppermint extract to frost a moist chocolate cake for the holidays, with crushed candy cane on top. This was a big hit. We've also used this frosting to sandwich two cookies together and as a dip for strawberries and raspberries. Yummy always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atlanticsong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was okay, but too tangy for my taste and it didn't hold up as well as the photos. Maybe I did something wrong, but it could have been thicker. Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I really liked this recipe. The slightly tangy taste paired well with the cherry pie filling I was using in my black forest cake. After reading many reviewers suggestions, I did whip the cream separately and the cream cheese afterward. The cream cheese was still cold, it had been sitting out for only half an hour. It mixed very well into the whipped cream. Again, following other reviewers suggestions, I was verrry careful not to overmix...great results!! My son was delighted with the rosettes I piped and sprinkled generously with shaved dark chocolate! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I thought this recipe was just OK. It does come out relativley stable, although I wouldnt recommend it for piping. I substituted powdered sugar for the regular sugar because in my first attempt I thought the sugar made it somewhat gritty. Has a very rich cream cheese flavor a little too much for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Mine melted after less than an hour. It was perfect at first, but after a while, it became a total disaster. I followed every single step, so I'm not sure what I did wrong. I LOVED how it tasted, though, and I'm sure it was me and not the recipe, so I'm giving it a perfect rating. More practice for me, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nalina
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I'm gonna give this a 4 star mainly because the instructions weren't all that well put. The ratio of ingredients is perfect. I didn't use almond extract because I don't have any, but it tasted perfect and I kept getting people asking for seconds and thirds. It did melt, slightly, so I'm not too sure what happened there. However this is the first recipe I've run across where the icing keeps it shape! I found that to do this recipe properly, all the ingredients (less the heavy cream) need to be beaten together until smooth, as instructed. However, the heavy cream needs to be whipped until foamy in a separate dish. Then, the whipped heavy cream should be folded into the cream cheese mixture until you get firm peaks. Oh! I almost forgot. Everything MUST be chilled. The bowl, the beater, and all the ingredients need to be really cold before even starting the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I was looking for a fresh tasting whipped cream that would hold up when "dolloped" onto pumpkin pie. This worked just right when I tested it and let it sit for about 15 minutes. The shape held. No breakdown. Perfect! great taste, light and fresh. I skipped the almond and just used vanilla extract. Next batch I am not using extract and using Bourbon... mmmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
good but... it's thinner in consistency than I needed for my cake, ended up adding about a cup and a half of powdered sugar to thicken it up. The added powdered sugar made it a thin marshmallow fluff consistency, but not too much more sweetness. Would be great on a 9x13 cake with a fruit topping or as a fruit dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! The flavor was fantasic and it easy to make! I loved it...the 2nd time - I had to make this twice, the first time was not successfuL; it was runny and I didn't enjoy it as much with the almond extract. However. the second time - I used regular cream cheese, used only the vanilla extract and as a lot of these ratings say, I used a chilled metal bowl and cream. Also, I whipped the cream first then added the ingredients to that, oh and added a bit of powdered sugar and yes, this time it was sturdy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlaskaJulie
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I added lemon powder and two drops yellow food color to top my fresh lemon cupcakes - AWESOME! Light, sturdy and taste beyond compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 680) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States