Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Too much almond flavor and too much cream cheese...could hardly taste the whipped cream. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I read a few pages of reviews and don't understand why people are having trouble with this frosting. No, it's not stiff enough to pipe, but I wouldn't expect it to be without a stabilizer of some sort. And no, somebody got confused between cream and egg whites--cream has enough fat in it that everything does NOT need to be spotless (though clean is always a good idea), and cream of tartar has nothing to do with cream, either. It's truly no-fail, though! I let my regular cream cheese sit in my steel bowl for maybe 1/2 hour--not long enough to soften much, but enough to be able to beat in the sugar & extracts. Once that was a little fluffy, I added all of the cream at once (straight out of the refrigerator) and beat with my hand mixer, starting on low to mix everything well, then went to high for maybe a minute and I had lovely stiff peaks. It tastes great on strawberry cake, and I bet it'd be good on any cake that has enough of its own flavor--I wouldn't try it on a white or yellow cake. It has a very mild cream cheese flavor. I think that the addition of almond extract tones it down some, so if you use just vanilla, you'll taste the cream cheese more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
My new go-to frosting. Everyone loved it! I did not make any changes except half the ingredients because I only had 1 cup of heavy cream. This was the perfect amount to frost a 9x13" cake. It kept its shape overnight and was just sweet enough without being too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Ideal for a fruit pound cake. I made it to frost a peach pound cake and it complimented the flavor of the cake perfectly. Luscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is my go to frosting for cakes of all kinds. I love that it doesn't have tons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessMcG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kathleenunsell
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This turned out absolutely PERFECT!!! Not only did it whip up as the recipe said it would, but it tastes so DELICIOUS! This was my first time making this recipe. I made a milk chocolate cake for my grandson's birthday and used broken candy bars for the garnish. I'm not sure what some of the reviewers did that messed up the whipping, but it worked perfectly for me. I used my stand mixer, followed directions exactly, and cranked it up to top speed as I added whipping cream. This is my new "everytime" recipe!!! Thanks Jo-Lynn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleenunsell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is a great frosting, however I think the cream cheese taste overpowers the actual "whipped cream" taste. It is sturdy, it is delicious, but it's more of a whipped cream cheese frosting than a whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I love this frosting! I made a few changes, I use 1/2 a cup icing sugar and 1/4 cup regular sugar. I also skip the almond and add lemon because I like it with fruit toppings. It is nice and fluffy and refreshing without being too sweet. Not great for decorating but its firm enough to hold its shape out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I love this recipe. I use it every time I make cupcakes or cakes. mine usually pipes just fine when chilled. it isn't as sharp as buttercream but for what i do with it just fine. I do use powdered sugar instead though it gives it slightly more strength and mixes easier. i have made it using vanilla, strawberry and peanut butter. the peanut butter with chocolate cake was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I've made this frosting twice now, both times for a wonderful fresh strawberry cake. It is so delicious! The texture is nice and thick (and sturdy!), and the flavor is lightly sweet...a perfect complement to cake. I made it again last night for my family Easter gathering and I'm sure it will be a hit. Thank you for this recipe! It will be made repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States