Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Sadly, this is anything but sturdy. I am a very experienced baker and I could not get this to whip past the texture of pudding. I tried chilling it overnight and whipping again. I tried adding 2 packets of Dr. Oetker's Whipped Cream stabilizer and whipping it agian, and then I added some powdered sugar. Nothing worked. It tasted great and I didn't want to waste it, so eventually I added another block of cream cheese and then made a loose version of frozen chocolate terrine so I wouldn't have to toss it out. The terrine got rave reviews. If you can't get the frosting to whip, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe I tried it and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This recipe held up very well over the long period of time that my cupcakes were left out. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this frosting recipe! It works the best for cupcakes. I've made this several times and everyone raves over the frosting. I usually omit the almond extract though and just add a bit more vanilla. I have also made this before and added about 2-3 Tablespoons of Bailey's for Irish cream cupcakes! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asteingruby
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I usually think the whipped frosting is somewhat flavorless, not this one! It is amazing, easy to work with and I get rave reviews from all who try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by runett
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is the best Whipped Cream Frosting!!! I get lots of compliments everytime I use it. It comes out perfect everytime! I use a stand mixer, make sure my cream cheese is at room temp, chill my mixing bowl and beaters; I omit the almond extract (I do not like the taste) I use an extra teaspoon or 3 of vanilla extract (this will darken your frosting, but the taste is so worth it). I also use Dr. Oetker Whipping Cream Stabilizer (purchased at World Market). The frosting pipes beautifully. I have also tinted the color of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zoiehcka
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
LOVE this frosting and I always get compliments on it. First time I made this it was perfect. Second time I over-beat and whipping cream became clumpy like bits of butter. Not sure how this happened as I was waiting for “stiff peaks” which never quite got there and then it started to get clumpy-and-liquidy, rather than smooth and frosting like. The last time, for her 3rd birthday, I turned off the beaters as soon as I saw the tracks forming and staying after passing through the beaters and it was perfect. All of our parties have been out doors in August and the frosting has always held up well. This year, making a big cake for our huge birthday party was too much, as we have a new baby, so I ordered an all natural cake from Whole Foods Bakery. While it was delicious and beautiful, after a while, the Whipped Cream frosting started to fall apart and melt. This frosting always stays together. The first year, I added a little beat juice to a small portion for pink writing. Last year, I added homemade raspberry sauce for color and flavor. I had to be careful to not add too much, so it wouldn't liquify. It tasted great! Also piped it(with the raspberry and without) onto a Nilla wafer cookie and topped with a gummy bear(all natural) for birthday treats for kiddo's preschool class for a treat that's just the right size and doesn't result in a discarded, licked clean cupcake. This is my "Go-to" frosting and people always ask for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I couldn't even use this frosting, it was more like pudding than frosting. I have made great cream cheese frostings in the past but this one just did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Really good....it was sturdy and didnt seem to require but i did anyway....i would use a lil less almond though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3XMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States