Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I've made this frosting several times now, and LOVE IT. I just use a regular hand mixer to whip it & it whips perfectly and holds its shape so well. The perfect marriage of cream cheese and whipped cream frosting... I use it with Ina Garten's dark chocolate cake & yeah, they're totally why I haven't lost the baby weight yet ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Very easy and quick to make! I used about 10% less sugar, 1 pint (8 oz.) heavy whipping cream and 1 pint regular whipping cream. I used Jo-Lynn's reminder recommendation to chill the bowl and whisk (freezer for about ten minutes) and followed the recipe directions exactly. I had my doubts, but the frosting was perfect! I was only frosting some mini carrot cake cupcakes and had a ton leftover. After two days of finger swiping little tidbits from the bowl, here's what I made: 4 versions of chocolate moussettes! Folded in the following: melted Nutella, melted Nutella with some instant espresso powder, melted chocolate, and melted chocolate and espresso powder. YUM! Note: when adding the warmer melted chocolate, start folding immediately if you want a smooth product! I hesitated on the plain chocolate moussette and this resulted in a speckled version...still yummy! (BTW my favorite was chocolate espresso.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This recipe is the best whipped cream frosting I have made to this day. Is exactly as it is described. Completely sturdy, not at all milky our way to creamy. it's the perfect frosting for any cupcake or cake topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
This is my new favorite frosting! It is so light, minimally-sweet, and fluffy-- perfect for dense or rich cakes/cupcakes. I made it exactly as the recipe suggested, except I used full-fat cream cheese (it's what I had on hand). As for other reviews... I don't feel that it is necessary to whip up the cream ahead of time and then fold it in (I didn't and it came out perfectly!),. I mixed the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla/almond extract together until WELL blended, scraped it off the edges, then slowly added the cream, increasing the speed of the mixer gradually. Just stick with it and keep scraping the sides until it is well-incorporated and thick. Once you have a good, thick consistency, it stays thick and hold up well. It was very quick/easy and so SO good. It is a MUST-TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Amazing texture and flavor! it wasn't too "cheesy" and more creamy and fresh so I guess it can go great with any cake! I dyed it using gel colors and the color turned out amazing. It didn't melt at room temperature but started to in a warmer weather (~30 degrees C). I suggest you refrigerate the cake decorated with it for a while before eating as this will help it keep the cream shape longer. I didn't use almond extract, just all vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maram Hasanain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Did not whip up. I made three batches - the first one was fine. Then the next two, using the same recipe and same ingredients, never did whip up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Alemanni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aggie
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I have used this on many cakes it's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
All the people stating this frosting didn't work must have over whipped it! I just tried this recipe and I even added food color to it and it was perfect. Bowl and beater were room temp. Made no difference what so ever. I think the error is not the recipe but the error was in execution. I will use this in place of buttercream every time. It is less sweet lighter and works well. We have made a few wedding cakes and wish we would have known about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Massari
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Loved this!!! We had an outdoor party for my one year old's birthday and the whipped cream stood up to the heat. We wanted a frosting that wasn't really sweet like buttercream and this fit the bill. Also, I know it wasn't made for piping onto a cake but I did and it came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Ended up with a lot of too thin frosting. Spooned over cake and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 782) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States