Stupid Simple Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been roasting chickens for almost 30 years and this is the best method I've tried. I placed a local free-range chicken on a rack, and followed the instructions (only had half of a lemon on hand). The chicken yielded very little drippings (good sign--the juice stayed in the bird). The drippings were mostly dried out and a very deep brown--the makings of a great gravy. I added some potato water (poured off from the red potatoes I boiled for mashing) to the roasting pan and scraped up every last bit of the browned bits, poured it into a saucepan and thickened it with cornstarch for the best gravy I've made (NO added broth or flavor enhancers). The chicken was juicy, tender and delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this for our immediate family thanksgiving dinner (had the big dinner with relatives on black friday this year). My daughter said that she wanted "chicken that looks like a turkey", so thats what she got :). This is a fantastic recipe - I have maybe roasted a chicken once before and wasn't impressed, but this recipe made the chicken really moist and tender and flavorful. I ended up cooking it for about an hour and 10 mins, which might have been a little long, because the drumsticks were a little dried out by that point, but I don't really care for the dark meat anyway. The only downside was that the kitchen got a little smoky when I was cooking this (I rubbed the outside of the skin with olive oil and sprinkled with salt & pepper), so maybe an open window would be a good thing unless you have an awesome exhaust fan! I tried a variation the next night where instead of the lemons in the cavity, I stuffed some boursin cheese under the skin of the breast and drumsticks and stuck a little in the cavity and then rubbed the outside of the chicken with whatever got on my hands ended up cooking at 325 for about 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours (that time I was using my mom's convection oven, so it might take longer in a regular one). It was a bit of a messy job, but was absolutely delicious (not very healthy though, but hey it was black friday thanksgiving dinner!) Thanks for the great recipe - I never thought I would successfully roast a chicken, but this recipe really is stupid easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Yep. So simple it's stupid. I've been experimenting with various roast chicken recipes and methods and this one so far is the clear winner. Easy. Moist. Delicious. And ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe was perfect! My chicken was tender, juicy, and covered in crispy skin. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiethegriffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I haven"t tried this yet but it sounds delicious and super easy. The kosher salt will make it tender and melt-in-your mouth delicious. I will probably let it sit in the 'fridge after I rub the salt in for an h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
What can I say - straight forward crispy skin and moist and tender meat. One tip - rinse the chicken and then set it upright to drain and dry - even in the refrigerator for several hours or at least for 30 minutes room temp. You will be surprised at how much water drains out. The salt really makes for a great crispy skin. Thanks for a no fuss recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was AWESOME! I made it tonight and tweaked it just slightly. When I sliced the lemon in half- I sqeezed the juice over the skin of the chicken and then put the halves in the cavity with a 1/2 stick of butter. This was the BEST roasted chicken I have ever made - hands down. And so simple! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really good! My chicken was larger than called for and probably still a bit frozen when I put it in the oven so it took much longer than expected. My husband said it was the best he's ever had. Very juicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was awesome! I had doubts that this would come out as well as people said, as easy as it is. It was so easy and so delicious I will be making it regularly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I just love this recipe! It makes for an easy entree. The only thing I would include is to put about a cup of water in the roasting pan to reduce the amount smoke that can be produced cooking at this high temperature. Otherwise, you can add whatever seasonings you might like (BBQ rubs, lemon-pepper, garlic, etc.) or just use the salt and lemon called for. A very versatile starting point or just plain delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States