Stupid Simple Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
What can I say - straight forward crispy skin and moist and tender meat. One tip - rinse the chicken and then set it upright to drain and dry - even in the refrigerator for several hours or at least for 30 minutes room temp. You will be surprised at how much water drains out. The salt really makes for a great crispy skin. Thanks for a no fuss recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Hmmm.....I would give this 3 stars as far as "taste" goes and probably 5 stars as far as tenderness. The recipe doesn't clarify how much salt I was supposed to use....I think I ended up using about 1.5 to 2 teaspoons. There just wasn't much flavor....and I don't equate saltiness with flavor anyway. The tenderness was superb. And the "stupid simple" definitely had me intrigued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I haven"t tried this yet but it sounds delicious and super easy. The kosher salt will make it tender and melt-in-your mouth delicious. I will probably let it sit in the 'fridge after I rub the salt in for an h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been roasting chickens for almost 30 years and this is the best method I've tried. I placed a local free-range chicken on a rack, and followed the instructions (only had half of a lemon on hand). The chicken yielded very little drippings (good sign--the juice stayed in the bird). The drippings were mostly dried out and a very deep brown--the makings of a great gravy. I added some potato water (poured off from the red potatoes I boiled for mashing) to the roasting pan and scraped up every last bit of the browned bits, poured it into a saucepan and thickened it with cornstarch for the best gravy I've made (NO added broth or flavor enhancers). The chicken was juicy, tender and delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was AWESOME! I made it tonight and tweaked it just slightly. When I sliced the lemon in half- I sqeezed the juice over the skin of the chicken and then put the halves in the cavity with a 1/2 stick of butter. This was the BEST roasted chicken I have ever made - hands down. And so simple! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was my first time cooking a whole chicken and it was fantastic! Instead of putting lemon halves inside I decided to do a bread stuffing (also a first for me). For the stuffing I used some leftover artisan bread that had gotten hard, a diced mushroom, diced an eight of a large onion, and some rosemary and garlic powder. For the outside of the chicken I didn't use kosher salt, instead used rosemary and garlic salt from one of those season grinders (kinda like the sea salt grinders). Again, it turned out fantastic! I'm boiling the leftover bones to make chicken and dumplings or chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Elliot, thank you for submitting this recipe! It's so stupidly easy and so good!! Oh my gosh! So moist! I added pepper b/c I like it and butter to the cavity. Followed the roasting directions exactly. This is perfect. I will never fuss w/ roasting chicken at a high heat first and then turning down the heat, etc., for the last hour. They're too high maintenance and aren't even close to this recipe. This is worthy of entertaining guests with. You rock!! Submit more recipes please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Rinse & let drain upright in fridge. Spread olive oil on skin, then coat with Kosher salt. Nice and crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside, and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ephraim, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really good! My chicken was larger than called for and probably still a bit frozen when I put it in the oven so it took much longer than expected. My husband said it was the best he's ever had. Very juicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I was a little bit afraid to try this because of the high heat but it was amazing! I stuck to the recipe of salt only with a lemon in the cavity and for us, it had tons of flavor. Like another reviewer mentioned, make sure your chicken is as dry as you can get it...you'll have less smoking that way. Also, I would use a bigger sized roasting pan for less splattering over the side. The skin was so good, it tasted like a delicious salty potato chip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States