Stupid Simple Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Rinse & let drain upright in fridge. Spread olive oil on skin, then coat with Kosher salt. Nice and crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside, and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ephraim, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious!! I took a few of the other ideas and combined them by adding the butter, rosemary, & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It's as juicy as beer butt chicken, but easier to prepare. I brushed on some olive oil before rubbing in the kosher salt. Very simple and very good. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was my first time cooking a whole chicken and it was fantastic! Instead of putting lemon halves inside I decided to do a bread stuffing (also a first for me). For the stuffing I used some leftover artisan bread that had gotten hard, a diced mushroom, diced an eight of a large onion, and some rosemary and garlic powder. For the outside of the chicken I didn't use kosher salt, instead used rosemary and garlic salt from one of those season grinders (kinda like the sea salt grinders). Again, it turned out fantastic! I'm boiling the leftover bones to make chicken and dumplings or chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
As says, very simple and although this chicken was bland without any seasonings I did find the lemon helped with moisture and the lemon in the drippings made for great gravy. While i will stick to my other recipes I now add the lemon to all my baked chicken and turkeys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this for our immediate family thanksgiving dinner (had the big dinner with relatives on black friday this year). My daughter said that she wanted "chicken that looks like a turkey", so thats what she got :). This is a fantastic recipe - I have maybe roasted a chicken once before and wasn't impressed, but this recipe made the chicken really moist and tender and flavorful. I ended up cooking it for about an hour and 10 mins, which might have been a little long, because the drumsticks were a little dried out by that point, but I don't really care for the dark meat anyway. The only downside was that the kitchen got a little smoky when I was cooking this (I rubbed the outside of the skin with olive oil and sprinkled with salt & pepper), so maybe an open window would be a good thing unless you have an awesome exhaust fan! I tried a variation the next night where instead of the lemons in the cavity, I stuffed some boursin cheese under the skin of the breast and drumsticks and stuck a little in the cavity and then rubbed the outside of the chicken with whatever got on my hands ended up cooking at 325 for about 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours (that time I was using my mom's convection oven, so it might take longer in a regular one). It was a bit of a messy job, but was absolutely delicious (not very healthy though, but hey it was black friday thanksgiving dinner!) Thanks for the great recipe - I never thought I would successfully roast a chicken, but this recipe really is stupid easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was awesome! I had doubts that this would come out as well as people said, as easy as it is. It was so easy and so delicious I will be making it regularly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really good! My chicken was larger than called for and probably still a bit frozen when I put it in the oven so it took much longer than expected. My husband said it was the best he's ever had. Very juicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I just love this recipe! It makes for an easy entree. The only thing I would include is to put about a cup of water in the roasting pan to reduce the amount smoke that can be produced cooking at this high temperature. Otherwise, you can add whatever seasonings you might like (BBQ rubs, lemon-pepper, garlic, etc.) or just use the salt and lemon called for. A very versatile starting point or just plain delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Hmmm.....I would give this 3 stars as far as "taste" goes and probably 5 stars as far as tenderness. The recipe doesn't clarify how much salt I was supposed to use....I think I ended up using about 1.5 to 2 teaspoons. There just wasn't much flavor....and I don't equate saltiness with flavor anyway. The tenderness was superb. And the "stupid simple" definitely had me intrigued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States