Stupid Simple Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
My family loved this simple but delicious recipe. My son said it was his favorite chicken recipe ever, and he is one picky eater. We were thinking of lots of variations we could do with this dish, but the simple version is so good we keep coming back to that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Wow! And wow again! Wonderfully moist, best skin ever and so tender. I did add the 1/2 stick of butter to the cavity. Well done you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I also use kosher salt when roasting a whole chicken. Instead of rubbing salt all over the chicken...I put about an inch of salt on the bottom of the roasting pan..place chicken on top..nothing on the chicken.. Crispy skin and moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Elliot, thank you for submitting this recipe! It's so stupidly easy and so good!! Oh my gosh! So moist! I added pepper b/c I like it and butter to the cavity. Followed the roasting directions exactly. This is perfect. I will never fuss w/ roasting chicken at a high heat first and then turning down the heat, etc., for the last hour. They're too high maintenance and aren't even close to this recipe. This is worthy of entertaining guests with. You rock!! Submit more recipes please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Rinse & let drain upright in fridge. Spread olive oil on skin, then coat with Kosher salt. Nice and crispy on the outside, juicy on the inside, and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ephraim, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious!! I took a few of the other ideas and combined them by adding the butter, rosemary, & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It's as juicy as beer butt chicken, but easier to prepare. I brushed on some olive oil before rubbing in the kosher salt. Very simple and very good. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was my first time cooking a whole chicken and it was fantastic! Instead of putting lemon halves inside I decided to do a bread stuffing (also a first for me). For the stuffing I used some leftover artisan bread that had gotten hard, a diced mushroom, diced an eight of a large onion, and some rosemary and garlic powder. For the outside of the chicken I didn't use kosher salt, instead used rosemary and garlic salt from one of those season grinders (kinda like the sea salt grinders). Again, it turned out fantastic! I'm boiling the leftover bones to make chicken and dumplings or chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
As says, very simple and although this chicken was bland without any seasonings I did find the lemon helped with moisture and the lemon in the drippings made for great gravy. While i will stick to my other recipes I now add the lemon to all my baked chicken and turkeys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this for our immediate family thanksgiving dinner (had the big dinner with relatives on black friday this year). My daughter said that she wanted "chicken that looks like a turkey", so thats what she got :). This is a fantastic recipe - I have maybe roasted a chicken once before and wasn't impressed, but this recipe made the chicken really moist and tender and flavorful. I ended up cooking it for about an hour and 10 mins, which might have been a little long, because the drumsticks were a little dried out by that point, but I don't really care for the dark meat anyway. The only downside was that the kitchen got a little smoky when I was cooking this (I rubbed the outside of the skin with olive oil and sprinkled with salt & pepper), so maybe an open window would be a good thing unless you have an awesome exhaust fan! I tried a variation the next night where instead of the lemons in the cavity, I stuffed some boursin cheese under the skin of the breast and drumsticks and stuck a little in the cavity and then rubbed the outside of the chicken with whatever got on my hands ended up cooking at 325 for about 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours (that time I was using my mom's convection oven, so it might take longer in a regular one). It was a bit of a messy job, but was absolutely delicious (not very healthy though, but hey it was black friday thanksgiving dinner!) Thanks for the great recipe - I never thought I would successfully roast a chicken, but this recipe really is stupid easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States