Stupid Simple Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I haven"t tried this yet but it sounds delicious and super easy. The kosher salt will make it tender and melt-in-your mouth delicious. I will probably let it sit in the 'fridge after I rub the salt in for an h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
What can I say - straight forward crispy skin and moist and tender meat. One tip - rinse the chicken and then set it upright to drain and dry - even in the refrigerator for several hours or at least for 30 minutes room temp. You will be surprised at how much water drains out. The salt really makes for a great crispy skin. Thanks for a no fuss recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Yep. So simple it's stupid. I've been experimenting with various roast chicken recipes and methods and this one so far is the clear winner. Easy. Moist. Delicious. And ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was AWESOME! I made it tonight and tweaked it just slightly. When I sliced the lemon in half- I sqeezed the juice over the skin of the chicken and then put the halves in the cavity with a 1/2 stick of butter. This was the BEST roasted chicken I have ever made - hands down. And so simple! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe was perfect! My chicken was tender, juicy, and covered in crispy skin. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiethegriffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been roasting chickens for almost 30 years and this is the best method I've tried. I placed a local free-range chicken on a rack, and followed the instructions (only had half of a lemon on hand). The chicken yielded very little drippings (good sign--the juice stayed in the bird). The drippings were mostly dried out and a very deep brown--the makings of a great gravy. I added some potato water (poured off from the red potatoes I boiled for mashing) to the roasting pan and scraped up every last bit of the browned bits, poured it into a saucepan and thickened it with cornstarch for the best gravy I've made (NO added broth or flavor enhancers). The chicken was juicy, tender and delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Hmmm.....I would give this 3 stars as far as "taste" goes and probably 5 stars as far as tenderness. The recipe doesn't clarify how much salt I was supposed to use....I think I ended up using about 1.5 to 2 teaspoons. There just wasn't much flavor....and I don't equate saltiness with flavor anyway. The tenderness was superb. And the "stupid simple" definitely had me intrigued.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I just love this recipe! It makes for an easy entree. The only thing I would include is to put about a cup of water in the roasting pan to reduce the amount smoke that can be produced cooking at this high temperature. Otherwise, you can add whatever seasonings you might like (BBQ rubs, lemon-pepper, garlic, etc.) or just use the salt and lemon called for. A very versatile starting point or just plain delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Really good! My chicken was larger than called for and probably still a bit frozen when I put it in the oven so it took much longer than expected. My husband said it was the best he's ever had. Very juicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was awesome! I had doubts that this would come out as well as people said, as easy as it is. It was so easy and so delicious I will be making it regularly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States