Stuffing Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Great dressing, however, there was one made by S&W Foods on the Brown Rice they used to sell. On this one, get rid of the whole wheat bread and use 3 cups brown rice (uncooked), no mushroomes, no raisins, Saute the celery & onions in a large stock pot, using enought water/chickent broth to cook this much rice, add sausage, seasonings, apples (finely chopped) to rice mixture and mix well. You can serve on the side without the mess of stuffing the birds, and just keep warm in a casserole dish to serve buffet style. Expect it to go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is really great for stuffing squash or small pumpkins. A nice range of flavors and very easy to add or take away some items if you would like. A very nice and versatile recipe. Easy to make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemstoneprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
So great! Loved it., It brough the hoilday cheer to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
L-O-V-E this recipe! I generally dont like stuffing and since this was my first Thanksgiving as the cook I decided to try a new stuffing recipe and this was a winner!! Everyone raved about it. I skipped the celery because I cant stand celery and instead of raisins I used craisins which made it all the better! Also, I didn't peal the apples which added a beautiful color to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I thought this recipe was delicious. A little dry tho, so i just added extra stock and an egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I believe that this recipe is incorrect as written, with the water and rice quantities reversed -- it should be 1 cup wild rice and 2-1/2 cups water. There isn't anywhere close to enough liquid in this recipe to properly cook 2-1/2 cups of wild rice and also moisten all of that bread. With that change, this is a 5 star recipe, and I don't normally even like stuffing. Some other minor modications that I make: I cook the rice in the chicken broth plus 1 cup of water (don't drain any excess after cooking the rice), then add the rest of the water at the end. That seasons the rice more effectively. I also reduce the salt and pepper slightly, 1-1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper, and use low sodium chicken broth. I love salt (my wife thinks I use too much), but this recipe is just a bit too heavy on salt without those changes. I also simplify some of the quantities to 2 medium onions, 4 large stalks celery, 8 oz mushrooms, and 12 slices of bread. The result is about the same as the quantities (in cups) shown, but I think this makes shopping and prep easier. When combining the final mixture, add additional water (up to about 2 more cups) until the mixture is well moistened but there is no standing liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made this last year for thanksgiving with my inlaws there was 35 of us I adjusted for 30 servings and had a lot left over but had to give the recipe to 3 other families for there upcoming thanksgiveing dinners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Granger, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wait-how can you have one cup of water to 2 1/2 cups rice? Are the proportions mixed up? It is usually one cup of wild rice to 3 cups of water. This will burn up in 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this for my husband's family this year and everyone LOVED it! only substituted the chicken broth with veg. broth as my father in law cannot eat poultry in any form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I usually don't like stuffing, but this had me coming back for seconds. Even hubs said it was right up there with his mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States