Stuffing of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
How much brooth do we need to add?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I like this recipe, It's basically the same recipe I've been using for the past 50 years, it's simple, fast and favorable. A trick I picked up from my daughter is to add a minced clove of garlic (smash first then mince) it's not enough to make it taste garlicky but it adds a certain richness and depth, plus I use a cube of butter to sauté the onions and celery, other than that it is the same recipe. I always have a lot of stuffing left over after stuffing the bird so I bake the rest of it in a dish and I add about a half a can of chicken broth so it doesn't dry out (the portion in the bird doesn't dry out). Cover the dish with foil. A nice thing about this recipe (and most stuffings) is that you can make it up to a week before, don't add any broth to it till later. Freeze it in a couple of large baggies until the day before then thaw it (bread thaws quickly) when it thaws then add your broth. One less thing to have to think about when your fixing several things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe is very similar to the stuffing my mother made and that I still make, the only difference is that we add 2 eggs and a small serving of mashed potatoes. I'm not a fan of instant potatoes but they work well in this recipe and help to bind it all together, and I do stuff my turkey with it and bake the left over in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
First ever attempt at stuffing, and everybody at Thanksgiving dinner loved it. I added carrots, and instead of a packet of mixed seasonings I threw in a bunch of my own seasonings (parsley, basil, black pepper, garlic powder, sage). Definitely will be a Thanksgiving staple now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Just like when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by user
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Okay so the verdict is in... it was a hit! It was wonderful even without using the poultry seasoning that I completely forgot about. I liked the way it turned out, but it seemed to me to be a little too "mushy". This is my first time making homemade stuffing, I have been using the boxed stuffing for my whole life... so is it that it is mushy or is it that I'm just accustomed to the boxed stuffing? I was looking at the picture that came with this recipe and the bread bits looked kind of "cubed like"... whereas mine kind of lost its shape. If anyone has any advice or tips please let me know! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is how my mom made our stuffing on Thanksgiving our whole lives. My sister and I always tore the bread into pieces the night before. Then mom would let the bread dry out over night. I look forward to mom's stuffing every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
my mom been making this over 50 years except she uses broth and uses poultry seasonings now i have passed it to my daughter--calady183
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is almost my Grandmother's stuffing - except hers used a whole stick of butter melted into 2 cups of water (I use vegetable broth) & more like 1/2 bunch celery. It's the only stuffing that my family asks for! I prefer to double the bread cubes and spice mix in my recipe for a drier stuffing - which would make it more comparable to this recipe without the water/broth. My Mom shared our table today and was thrilled that I still use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolocny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is very similar to my stuffing, I’ve been making for 50 years, but I use a bit more butter (1 stick), dry sage and poultry seasoning. I bake it covered, outside the turkey and since there are no juices from the turkey I add turkey broth to moisten the bread (College Inn brand is available Thanksgiving thru Christmas), chicken broth will also work; bouillon is all salt. I also mix in some grated carrot, adds a little color. I cook the vegetables and seasonings in the butter until almost tender, then gently fold into the bread cubes, alternating with broth and bake at 350 degrees until heated thru, about 40 to 45 minutes... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States