Stuffing of Champions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This is the exact stuffing we have used my whole life ( I am 25). It will be the stuffing that will be used every Thanksgiving till the day I die. You may want to add a little poultry seasoning but the sage is fine on its own. I know it looks too easy to be good. But trust me, it is awesome. Much better than stove top. BTW fun for the kids. Mom use to have me tear up loaves and loaves of bread for this and put into brown grociery bags. If you want to give the kids something to do this would be it. No knives needed. Oh and recently I discovered Herb Ox chicken boullion which is awesome used as chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Tried other stuffings/dressing and this is the only one my family uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My Nan's recipe that I make every year is very similar to this but I also use some of the juice from the Turkey and poultry seasoning. What really makes this something special though is using FRESH parsley. If you cut up a few sprigs and add it to your saute mix it gives it that little something extra!! I don't stuff my bird but I do bake the stuffing for a while in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Joy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is almost exactly the same stuffing my mom makes and now I make every year except we add poultry seasoning and thyme and a bit of salt and pepper. So simple and so amazingly good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is very similar to my stuffing, I’ve been making for 50 years, but I use a bit more butter (1 stick), dry sage and poultry seasoning. I bake it covered, outside the turkey and since there are no juices from the turkey I add turkey broth to moisten the bread (College Inn brand is available Thanksgiving thru Christmas), chicken broth will also work; bouillon is all salt. I also mix in some grated carrot, adds a little color. I cook the vegetables and seasonings in the butter until almost tender, then gently fold into the bread cubes, alternating with broth and bake at 350 degrees until heated thru, about 40 to 45 minutes... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is almost my Grandmother's stuffing - except hers used a whole stick of butter melted into 2 cups of water (I use vegetable broth) & more like 1/2 bunch celery. It's the only stuffing that my family asks for! I prefer to double the bread cubes and spice mix in my recipe for a drier stuffing - which would make it more comparable to this recipe without the water/broth. My Mom shared our table today and was thrilled that I still use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolocny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
my mom been making this over 50 years except she uses broth and uses poultry seasonings now i have passed it to my daughter--calady183
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is how my mom made our stuffing on Thanksgiving our whole lives. My sister and I always tore the bread into pieces the night before. Then mom would let the bread dry out over night. I look forward to mom's stuffing every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by user
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Okay so the verdict is in... it was a hit! It was wonderful even without using the poultry seasoning that I completely forgot about. I liked the way it turned out, but it seemed to me to be a little too "mushy". This is my first time making homemade stuffing, I have been using the boxed stuffing for my whole life... so is it that it is mushy or is it that I'm just accustomed to the boxed stuffing? I was looking at the picture that came with this recipe and the bread bits looked kind of "cubed like"... whereas mine kind of lost its shape. If anyone has any advice or tips please let me know! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Just like when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States