Stuffing for Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I buttered the bejeez out of my crockpot before adding in the stuffing ingredients. I used fresh mushrooms (only one 8 oz. package because that was all I had) and I used a cup each of chopped celery and carrots as that was all I had. I also used my own homemade chicken stock and because I was low on time, I used packaged "dried" cubed bread made just for stuffing. This was GREAT. My crockpot is a powerhouse (it's a newer model that runs kind of hot than my old one did) so I didn't need the whole eight hours. Putting it in this afternoon was just right for it to be done around dinner. This was a total snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Used two boxes of seasoned stuffing mix and omitted the seasonings in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Can't wait to have it on Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE This recipe! It saved us so much time and space on thanksgiving. I cannot thank you enough for this recipe. I didn't add egg, and watched how much broth I put in, and we also used the bagged stuffing instead of bread. DELCIOUS and stress free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I am giving this recipe four stars because the explanation is a bit off. When you are mixing in the broth into the mixture .... the stuffing should NOT be too moist because the slow cooker will bring out the juices and make it soupy. Also if you have a black crock pot do not put it on high for 45 minutes.....just do it on low because the outside will be very crisp and stick to the sides and even with PAM it is a pain to clean up. Just check the stuffing after a few hours to make sure it isn't too soggy. If you see that it is getting soggy just remove the cover and let the excess moisture evaporate. If that doesn't work ..you can stick it in the oven at about 200 for 10 or 15 minutes and you will have great stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
this was okay. really flavorful. the only issue was that I found it needed to be stirred quite frequently to prevent burning too bad around the sides. I will maybe try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This gets five stars just because it made my Thanksgiving that much easier :-) I used seasoned bread crumbs so did not need the extra seasoning, bonus. It turned out great, crunchy around the edges and soft and nice in the middle. Just the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bowen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
this did not work for me at all---not AT ALL! i used seasoned dry stuffing cubes, so didn't add the herbs and salt (as the recipe suggested) and it was tasteless until i added some salt and poultry seasoning...that livened it up a bit, but after only 4 1/2 hrs in the slow cooker (45 min on high, then on low) it was nearly burnt, hard and impossible to eat----out of all that effort and expense i got maybe 2 cups of usable stuffing which i didn't even like the taste of: nearly all of it went down the disposal since my guests didn't like it either...will move on to another recipe for stuffing i'm afraid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! Bonus because it took up zero oven/stovetop space. That was great! Comments here made me be careful on how much broth to add - only one can of broth was needed. This might just be a new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I think the stuffing turned out alright. Not as good as my mom's from the bird, but still pretty good. Oh, and it was WAY too salty for me. I won't add any if I make this again. Two cans of broth was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States