Stuffing for Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I gave this 4 stars only because I can see where some people made a mistake in this recipe. It calls for 4 cups of chicken broth and to add until moistened. There's no way you need 4 cups of chicken broth...that's why some people's came out "soupy". Really, one can (or 2 cups) is all you need. You need to be familiar with the right consistency of stuffing for in and out of the bird to not make that mistake. Anyway, I thought it tasted delicious WITHOUT the marjoram..not the right spice for this. Also, FYI, twelve cups of bread cubes should be about 1 large loaf of white bread cut into cubes. That should help some people get it right. It's the perfect stuffing for a chicken because I can never get enough into a small chicken for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
WOW! I sure wish I had paid attention to this recipe sooner, I would have saved myself heaps of time!! Here's a way to save more: I just used a bag of Pepperidge Farm "Sage & Onion" stuffing, which allows me to skip the spice ingrediants. Ofcourse, I used fresh mushrooms to the celery/onion saute and I also browned and drained 1 lb pork sausage & added that in! In the words of Rachel Ray: YUMMO!! This recipe works great almost year-round. I will NEVER make traditional stuffing again! Thanks a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Crockpot stuffing is the only way to go. This recipe is great, but I have also tried other favorite dressing recipes and they have turned out very well. I'd choose the low end of the cooking time unless you have a cooler crockpot. Saving the oven space is the best thing I've ever done for Thanksgiving. No more juggling or microwaving dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Used seasoned, dried bread cubes, left out the seasoning and used all of the liquid. Also added a cup of chopped apples and the results were very good. Used a crockpot style cooker and got the crunchy edges that half my family fights over. Made the stuffing a day ahead and refrigerated it, then the following day cooked it 2 hours, loaded it in a car, drove for an hour, plugged it in for 2 more hours before serving. It couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
As was mentioned by a previous member, I used pre seasoned bread cubes. I ommitted the seasonings and the mushrooms. This turned out great. I think the amount of the broth should be according to your preference for moistness. I used slightly less than the suggested amount and the stuffing was still very moist. I think a cup less than suggested would still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
EXCELLENT! I HAD TO GIVE THE RECIPE TO EVERYONE WHO CAME FOR THANKSGIVING. THIS IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Walling, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I love this easy recipe but don't forget to spay inside your slow cooker before adding ingredients and I also like to use cream of chicken soup which makes it a very moist dressing. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESMKR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plain, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I am giving this recipe four stars because the explanation is a bit off. When you are mixing in the broth into the mixture .... the stuffing should NOT be too moist because the slow cooker will bring out the juices and make it soupy. Also if you have a black crock pot do not put it on high for 45 minutes.....just do it on low because the outside will be very crisp and stick to the sides and even with PAM it is a pain to clean up. Just check the stuffing after a few hours to make sure it isn't too soggy. If you see that it is getting soggy just remove the cover and let the excess moisture evaporate. If that doesn't work ..you can stick it in the oven at about 200 for 10 or 15 minutes and you will have great stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great recipe! This was perfect for Sunday dinner with roasted chicken. I wish I had this recipe during Thanksgiving...it would have saved me a lot of time. It's so moist and it tastes fabulous. My only caution is to only use the amount of broth necessary to moisten not the entire amount the recipe calls for or you'll end up with a soupy mess. Next time I might add in some sauage, apples or cranberries - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I buttered the bejeez out of my crockpot before adding in the stuffing ingredients. I used fresh mushrooms (only one 8 oz. package because that was all I had) and I used a cup each of chopped celery and carrots as that was all I had. I also used my own homemade chicken stock and because I was low on time, I used packaged "dried" cubed bread made just for stuffing. This was GREAT. My crockpot is a powerhouse (it's a newer model that runs kind of hot than my old one did) so I didn't need the whole eight hours. Putting it in this afternoon was just right for it to be done around dinner. This was a total snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Stuffing

See how to make moist stuffing in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States