Stuffed Zucchini with Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was delicious! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand that turned out rather well. First, I had Italian zucchini ( we call them hand gernades) so I hollowed them out and stuffed them with the filling. Before placing them in the oven, I brushed the outsides with olive oil. Next, I didn't have chicken sausage so I poached a chicken breast with garlic and onion and shredded it. Then I added Italian seasoning to the mixture since the meat did not have the sausage seasoning. Finally, I was low in parmesan cheese, so I threw in some mazzarella. They were amazing! My husband doesn't typically like veggies and he loved it! I served it with pasta and tomato sause and garlic bread. I am actually going to be making this again tonight! Thanks for an awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was delicious. The sweet squash was a nice counter to the heat of the pepper. The only thing I changed was to use squash I found at a fall farmer's market and cut back on the red pepper flakes. Also, I cut the squash in half, microwaved them for about 7 minutes, covered, with a little water and then stuffed them and baked them for 1/2 hour. I used this as a main dish, but they were small portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made some tweaks only because my 2 zucchini were quite small, and this recipe didn't steer me wrong! I basically halved all the other ingredients, left out zucchini in the stuffing mix, used dried basil (1/2 tsp, plus a 1/2 tsp dried oregano), and left the garlic at the full 3 cloves. We couldn't find just one link of chicken sausage, so we used regular Italian sausage. Oh boy was this tasty! One last tweak, I didn't want to try and use just a part of a can of tomatoes, so I used 1 large Roma tomato, finely diced and tossed it in with the onions to cook them down. Deglazing the pan with chicken broth is a taste booster as well. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TALULABELLE28
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
LOVED THIS!! my whole family enjoyed it (they are big zucchini fans) and the extra crunch from the bread crumbs/parmesan cheese make it so delish. i had a lot of stuffing left, and i followed the measurements exactly. i stuffed 3 zucchinis and only cut up two of the slices of zucchini for the stuffing. i still need to figure out how to calculate the measurements so i won't have so much leftover. i will just be using the leftover for a brunch scramble tomorrow. i also used a diced roma tomato since i didn't want too many juices from canned tomato. i will be making this regularly and more servings! we did not have enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Stuffed Zucchini w/ Chick Sausage Haiku: "This felt 'hors d'oeuvres-ey.' Too much leftover filling. But it was still good." There was something that tasted exceptionally rich about this dish, that made my family and I feel guilty for eating it as an entire meal, and not as a tiny-bite appetizer. It's not that it's unhealthy in the slightest, but it was just very, well, rich. There was also way too much stuffing mixture called for to fill 2 zucchini halves, so I just mashed up what was left and baked "balls" alongside the zucchini. I didn't change anything about the recipe except to bake it longer at a lower temp. I think if I made this again, I'd sub ground beef for the sausage and cheddar for the parm, otherwise, the directions, prep, and end result was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is an extremely tasty dish but had no idea what size of zucchini to use hence had leftover filling. Maybe the contributor could enlighten everyone as to the size of the vegetable. Again, the filling is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Perfect blend of flavors. I was wondering if this would fill me up since it's vegetable based but it definitely did the trick! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was easy.... I doubled the receipe and have plenty for a total of 16 boats... it is very spicy with the crushed red pepper... Lovin it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlette E. Rosales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was absolutely amazing! I don't cook much and the recipe was easy to follow and tasted wonderful. The only change I would be make is to add a few additional Zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This was really good and VERY easy. I put the leftover stuffing into a separate dish and baked it at the same time. My very picky kids didn't care for the zucchini, but finished off the extra stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States