Stuffed Zucchini Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe for letting me know how long to cook the stuffed zuchinni. We love to stuff it with just the hamburger and garlic. The last 10 minutes we put shredded cheese on it. After it's done cooking we add sour cream, tomato, onion, hot sauce, like a burritto. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I was nervous to try this recipe but it was so simple! You have to give it a try! I actually used left over spaghetti meat sauce for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Best zucchini dish I ever made... just awesome I used whatever bread I had in the fridge. Didnt matter. Even my picky daughter ate the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I used pork instead of beef, subbed the bread for rice, used a can of spinach and topped with a can of spaghetti sauce and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Very good, very filling, reheats well and is pretty healthy. Score! I have to admit to adding garlic and a little more in the spice area, but that's truly just a personal preference. The results were nice. Made them ahead of time and just popped them into the oven later in the day. Nice and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Love this base for my creative cooking. I added fresh spinach (3cups steamed, squeezed) 3 onions (med. size) 1/2 c fresh basil 1 c Small baby tomatos and 1 c fresh corn - all from my garden. I changed beef to lamb. I did up the eggs to 2 and upped the tomato sause to 1 cup. Then stuffed it all into my huge zucchinis(they get very big if not watched carefully. My husband and kids got a laugh as I make enough to feed a small army every time I cook. Good thing I have a care center where they appreciate meals made for seniors. This is a wonderful recipe to use as a base for my experiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Don't you hate people who review a changed recipe? So, hate me then. I had *round* zucchini from the garden, no spinach, bread crumbs instead of bread cubes and dried parsley instead of fresh. Used 1 cup bread crumbs and 1/4 cup dried parsley. After mixing it together, seemed dry, so I added another 1/2 cup of tomato sauce (total of 1 cup). Used 3 round zucchini. Shaved a little off the bottom of each so the halves wouldn't roll around. Figured the filling was thicker than in a regular zucchini, so I baked them covered an extra 10 minutes (total of 40 minutes) and then 10 minutes uncovered. Turned out very good and pretty simple to make. Note that the tomato sauce gives the filling a subtle flavor - it's not smothered in tomato sauce. When I make this again, I'll probably add some black pepper and minced garlic or garlic powder. Overall a good recipe, simple to make and a different twist to use up that zucchini bumper crop from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I've never tried stuffed zucchini before, and I thought it sounded good. This recipe was just as perfect and delicious as I expected! I did make a couple of substitutions to use what I had on hand...ground turkey instead of ground beef, some random green I had laying around instead of the spinach (may have been broccoli rabe?) and four of those cheap white hot dog buns instead of the French bread. I also cut the salt down to 3/4 tsp. With these changes, the zucchini came out absolutely perfect...the zucchini was tender and the filling was moist and flavorful. I will definitely make this recipe again! You really have to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I used this recipe in order to start something in the oven and leave the house and take my son's to the playground while cooking. When we returned home dinner was done. My son's are 2 and 3 and they tore this up. I seasoned and browned the meat, 1/2 each red and green peppers and Onion, tomato sauce brought to temp. I cored my zucchini and stuffed with browned meat. I cooked it at 300 F covered for an hour cause I knew we were going to the playground. When we got home I took off the foil and added an Italian cheese blend. Man that was some good eatin! Thanks for the great recipe base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
this recipe was ok added basil garlic and Italian seasoning to meat mixture and added motz cheese durning the last 10 min of cooking also used fireroasted tomato and garlic tomato sauce. The mixture was very good however the zucchini was very bland itself. I think next time I will put some garlic and oil on the zucchini and grill it first then stuff it and then put it over for a bit to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States