Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I made some modifications based on previous reviews. I browned the pork with minced garlic and onion. I also steamed the zucchini boats so they were tender. I didn't have mozzarella so that was omitted, but it didn't make too big of a difference. I added Italian seasoning, white pepper, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes to Newman's Own Roasted Garlic spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook Mattos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I have made this several times and it is a favorite with my grand kids they love it. I do as well. I made exactly as the recipes stated and all is delicious. thanks for great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I used ground beef and jarred spaghetti sauce with pork, added onion and chopped garlic, Cajun spice, and Italian seasonings. It was delicious. Will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Perkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I apologize. I usually make a recipe as written the first time but I had leftovers that I needed to use. I used 2 large 9 inch long zucchinis trimmed to fit in my pan sideways. After cutting in half I microwaved for 5 minutes. It makes scooping easier and more even. Using a good sausage made this dish. I used jalapeno sausage from my local butcher, removed from their casings. Added 1 cup leftover cooked rice, scooped zucchini, 1 cup leftover chopped grilled veggies (red, yellow and green peppers, onion, yellow squash and zucchini) and half a jar of pasta sauce. Stuffed, covered with remaining sauce and cooked as directed. Used a little more cheese than called for on top to cover everything. I did NOT brown the sausage first and it was fully cooked. Served with salad and garlic bread. Because I used cooked rice instead of bread crumbs it was a little loose and juicy but my guys loved it that way and sopped up the juice with the garlic bread. My 13 year old, who is a wonderful cook and usually tries anything, hates zucchini and refused to have any. I finally convinced him take 2 bites of mine and he was hooked! He even went back for seconds and declared that we needed to put this into our cooking rotation. Thank you for a very creative, delicious and sneaky way to get my family to eat more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Well, I modified this recipe quite a bit to make it more healthy and gluten free, but I really liked using it as a start off point: I used 1/3 pound of mild pork sausage, 1/3 pounds ground chicken breast, used shallot instead of garlic because I can't eat straight garlic, 1/2 cup of gluten free bread crumbs, added an egg, used less than 1/2 cup of parmesan and excluded the mozzarella cheese. I also used Trader Joe's puttanesca sauce. I sprinkled it with Italian seasoning before baking. So, you can see that I really altered the recipe, but I think the flavors were maintained and it was so delicious. I've never made stuffed zucchini and we both really liked it. I also did not brown the meat before stuffing the zucchini, I just baked it until the temperature reached 165 degrees. I think that's the true way to tell if something is cooked thoroughly. The zucchini was cooked perfectly. While I didn't follow the exact recipe, this one was super helpful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
So yummy!! I put the scooped out zucchini in the preheated over for about 10 min while I mixed everything else together, zucchini turned out perfectly done!! My husband and I went back for seconds!! Added to our weekly rotation for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose20023

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Added onions, minced and less Parmesan and added shredded cheese. Cooked large zucchini in oven for 20 mins while I prepped other ingredients. Very good and easy to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This dish is amazing! I usually add a 24 oz can of pasta sauce and a can of Italian diced tomatoes. Absolutely no reason to precook anything, though I would make sure the zucchini is spooned out well. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I made this at my fiance's house. Since he doesn't have an oven we made it in his toaster oven. He's not that fond of zucchini but he decided he would try it. I forgot to buy bread crumbs and we couldn't find pork sausage so we used cubed steak. I think it came out just fine but I didnt care for the steak and he didnt care for the zucchini. But overall its a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Followed the recipe as written, it was very easy and good. My daughter loved it. It's a keeper because it uses a lot of things you have on hand already so you can throw it together quickly. I used mild Italian sausage but I'm sure you could use any meat you want. I would only use 1/2 the breadcrumbs next time. I had large zucchini so I baked them in the oven for 10 minutes while preparing the stuffing mixture (only deviation from the recipe), but did not brown the meat before hand and it was fine. I will definitely make again for quick easy dinner, but will probably add more spices to make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States