Stuffed Tomatoes with Grits and Ricotta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
What a tasty side dish! Since I used heirloom tomatoes from my garden, I hated to waste the innards, so I mixed some of them back in with the cheese mixture and used the more watery part in the shrimp scampi sauce I cooked as my main dish. I also used basil from my garden instead of parsley. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Really different & delicious! Almost a meal in itself. I did not have ricotta cheese so I substituted with half cream cheese and half sour cream and it turned out great. I will make these with the ricotta next time, based on all the great reviews, I can't wait. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Made as a side with a little sauteed spinach and onion added to the filling. The flavors really compliment each other well. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This dish was raved about at our traditional Thanksgiving family breakfast last year and is already being inquired about this year. It was such an elegant and delicious addition to our feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was truly delicious! We ate it with grilled shrimp instead of as an appetizer. If I did make it as an appy, I would make it in cherry tomatoes. Be sure to watch it at the end because a couple of my tomatoes split in the oven, and spilled on the pan which doesn't make a pretty presentation ; ). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is a true 5-star winner. Very different and interesting combination of grits and cheese. All who tried this recipe were quite impressed. No negatives, which is always a surprise. Made absolutely no modifications. (which I never do)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Delicious! I wanted to do something different with grits, and this was perfect. It takes a while but tastes delicious. I couldn't get ricotta cheese, so I used cottage cheese and it actually turned out (though it made my tomatoes soggy). I used it to stuff some jalapenos--that was even better. I might try mushrooms next time. A great healthy version of delicious stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Wow...So Good! Only thing I changed was to add extra sharp cheddar cheese instead of the Asiago because it is what we had on hand. It was amazing. Thanks for a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Loved this recipe! Its different from what I normally cook grits as, which made the change very pleasing. Also, I always try to find the healthier recipes and this one definitely fits the bullet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
For those that don't use grits a lot, you can find them in the breakfast/cereal section. Our grocery store only offered one option - instant grits - so I cooked them as suggested then followed the recipe from that point and these were still excellent. My filling did puff up a little, so I wouldn't recommend filling the tomatoes to the top. These are a hit in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States