Stuffed Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
The directions should read *make a criss-cross cut at the opposite end (not the stem end) & gently fan out a bit*...this creates a pocket for the cream cheese filling. Be prepared to ruin a strawberry or two...some just don't want to fan out. But you can always use those in another dish or do as I do & pop the uncooperative ones in your mouth. That'll teach 'em!!! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I am giving this 5 stars but I think that was due to the fact that I dipped the stuffed strawberries in chocolate(just melted choc semi sweet morsels with a dab of veg oil). Ohh my how good they were and how people raved about them. The filling itself I used only 1 tbsp grand marnier liqueur and found it waaaay to overpowering so I added in a little extra sugar, and a few tbsp of fluff and grated in some nice semi sweet chocolate. That was good but next I think I'll skip the liqueur and add in some vanilla bean or almond extract. I would only give 4 stars as is but DIPPED IN CHOCOLATE..they are fabulous. I bet adding mini choc chips to the stuffing would be great too! This def is a great recipe that you can experiment with.***update..I now have made with the vanilla bean and/or extract on they are TO DIE FOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I think these tasted best after being refrigerated. Instead of criss-crossing the cut on the point of the strawberry, I cut "out" a small triangle wedge before putting in the cream. This was much easier that pulling the strawberry open to get the cream in..plus then it didn't try and squish out. I used orange extract in place of the liqueor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
So very delicious!!! I made a few modifications. I didn't understand how the strawberries should be cut from the directions given, so I sliced them in half and piped the cheese over them. I used neufchatel cheese and shaved half a Hershey's extra dark almond, cranberry, and blueberry chocolate bar into the mixture. Not having orange liqueur on hand, I replaced it with a teaspoon of vanilla extract and only used 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. My husband absolutely loved these and said this was the best quick dessert I've ever made! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Five stars for a quick, easy, lovely and delicious dessert. I made just enough for Hubs and me and subbed Amaretto for the orange flavored liqueur, which I'm not a fan of. I made beautiful presentations on individual dessert plates, placing two each on top of baked triangles of puff pastry (Pepperidge Farm), drizzling each with some warmed ganache I had on hand in the fridge, a sprinkling of powdered sugar, a dollop of whipped cream and a sprig of fresh mint. "Gourmet" dessert in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I make two criss cross cuts in the strawberries. It creates a better pocket for the filling. They look like pretty flowers on a platter. I make these for bridal and baby showers all the time. Simple yet elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This recipe is so easy to make and tastes GREAT! I made this for my sister's Wedding shower and everyone absolutely loved them. What I love about it is they're so easy to make. Just be careful not to beat the cream cheese mixture too much (just until uniform) because when piping it will not keep its shape. Next time I think I'll add a little more Cointreau to give it more flavour. This recipe is absolutely wonderful!!! Thanks IMVINTAGE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMCMULLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Bake4fun
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
These were very good. I made them to bring to a party. It agree with other reviewers, a pastry tip would have made it easier to fill. I used a plastic bag with an end cut off. I topped them off with milk chocolate. I put that in a small plastic bag too and drizzled it over the top. They look like it took me a long time to make, but it was a quick and easy dessert. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
SOOOOOO good! I made these for my daughter's Strawberry Shortcake themed b-day party and these were a BIG hit! I used a little almond extract instead of orange liquor. If you cut around the stem, you end up with a nice 'pocket' for filling. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Quite tasty! I used orange extract rather than liqueur and it turned out great! Served it with some chocolate syrup and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States