Stuffed Sole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Simply amazing!!! This recipe is so easy to make, and tastes absolutely amazing! My partner is a frenchman, and very fussy about food, and he loves this dish...as do several friends we've had over for dinner! Tastes great just following the recipe, or you can adjust the wine or the lemon, or any of the ingredients for that matter, to suit your tastes. Fool proof and one worth adding to your recipe book!!! 5 Stars definitely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed DeBoer
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This would be a five star recipe if you use a different fish and don’t use the drippings to make the sauce. If this recipe looks good to you but you don’t like fishy tasting fish just make these small changes. Either make sure you are using DOVER SOLE (only sole that is not fishy!) or use Orange Roughy. Or just any white fish that is extremely mild. And to make the sauce double the lemon juice mixture and use half for cooking the fish and the other half for making the sauce. Then the sauce is excellent (on lots of things) and there is no fishy tasting anything!!!! You can also replace the shrimp for crab if you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was really good. I substituted white onion for the green (none on hand), and didn't really measure the other ingredients. I had to cook and chop up some regular shrimp (what I had in the freezer). I loved the flavors together, but thought that with a little basil, the sauce would have been even better. I also added a smidge more flour to make the sauce a little thicker. Great recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
What a great recipe! We didn't have any shrimp so we subsituded tuna...delish! Next time I'll get shrimp ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I agree with SIKESK - awesome recipe. Will make again! I used orange roughy, just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
We liked this. I was in a hurry so did not make the sauce - but the fish still tasted great. I also made a change. Since I didn't have shrimp in the house, I made a filling out of canned salmon instead (1 can of salmon, 1 garlic clove, 1 tbsp lemon juice, salt and pepper). We liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This recipe is great for someone who doesn't have alot of experience cooking. It's quick and simple to make and it taste great. But if you dont like the fish taste don't make it because it does have a stronger taste then you would expect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
As another reviewer stated, a little 'fishy'. I am going to try this again and marinate the sole for about an hour or two before cooking, and then follow the recipe adding a few more of my favorite spices. This recipe has great potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This fish tasted good until I put the sauce over it..then it was too fishy. I wanted the sole because it had little fish flavor. I don't like fish much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was very easy to make. A nice way to use sole. The only change I made to the recipe was adding a bit of red pepper to the sauce. Very tasty.. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States