Stuffed Shells IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
These were delicious! Did not make many changes... I omitted the mushrooms and parsley. These were so healthy and satisfying. I served them with steamed green beans. I added some of the extra sauce from the shells to the beans and it was the perfect pairing. Great! Will 100% make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie stamps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
These were FANTASTIC.. my son said they tasted just like the stuffed caneloni at Olive Garden! I added a few extra shells (out of a 2nd box) but didn't need them. The filling was just enough for one whole box, depending on how full you stuff them.. I stuffed them pretty full. I filled a 13x9 pan and a small casserole dish. I did have a problem with liquid at the bottom. And I made sure the pasta was dry and patted all the liquid out of the spinach. I'm guessing maybe just the covering with foil may have been the reason for it.. condensation while it's cooking maybe. The cheese probly would have gotten overcooked had I not covered it tho. Next time I may cook uncovered and either take my chances on over cooked cheese OR, just not put it on till 15 mins before it's done. All in all.. even with the liquid.. it was GREAT! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Everybody loves these at our house! I didn't have turkey so used ground beef instead and made sure they were covered in plenty of sauce. Otherwise, followed the recipe. They stay moist cooking with the foil on. I took it off at the end and added the mozzarella to melt for a few more minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made this last night and it was excellent AND easy to pull together. I did add Oregano instead of parsley while the meat was cooking, I also added a package of Italian seasoning and had one cup of small curd cottage cheese and one cup of ricotta. My sweetheart said it was perfect and cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I seasoned the ground beef with dry Italian Dressing mix, like other reviewers. In my opinion it needed more seasoning, so I also added basil and oregano too. I ended up making 2 8x8 dishes and froze one. I love dishes that make something to freeze. This was a dud with my 7 and 4 yr old. They both love lasagna but thought the filling was "slimy.". Neither would eat it and my 4 year old literally eats everything. It wasn't wet either. I thought it wasn't half bad. The biggest problem was that I used a store bought sauce and I am always disappointed with store bought sauces,,, but it was free and I needed to use it. My husband liked it too but I think I will just stick with lasagna next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Sooo good! Even my 1 year old devoured it! I think the only change I made was to use ewll drained canned spinach. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I have two issues with this otherwise excellent recipe that keep it from being 5 stars. First, sauce is so easy to make. Second, use same pot you used to boil the shells to sweat the vegetables, brown the meat and mix with the cheeses. Throw the spinach in during the last minute of cooking to evaporate any remaining liquid. Lastly, cover the bottom of the baking dish with a thin layer of sauce unless you want you shells to stick! Oh, unless you have two 9x13 baking dishes, half this recipe – there’s no way you can get all of the stuffed shells to fit in a single dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was really good- Just need to add some spices, such as italian seasoning. I mixed Hot sausage and ground beef to the ground turkey. I like my dishes a little zesty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kermi00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Delicious! This was one of the first somewhat complicated recipies I have tried on my own. I took others recommendations and added 2 tbs of italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper & 1/2 tsp oregano. I also used 1 cup ricotta chess to substitute for 1 of the 2 cups of cottage cheese. I added some fresh chopped tomatoes--we love tomatoes! Otherwise followed the recipe and this turned out fantastic!! It made a LOT, so I froze in meal sizes. Leftovers still tasted great..now if I could only get my boyfriend to eat leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was pretty good, but I think the meat mixture needed some extra seasoning, possibly with oregano, basil and more garlic. It seemed a little bland to me. I made 2 changes but I don't think it affected the flavor as far as seasonings go. First, I don't like cottage cheese in anything so I used ricotta. Second, I used fresh spinach as that was all I had. This recipe makes alot! I should have looked at the number of servings because there were only 2 of us eating it so we tired of it after the 2nd meal. Next time I will cut the recipe in half, and add the seasonings I mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States