Stuffed Shells IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I used the homemade sauce from the worlds best lasagna recipe on this site (using turkey and turkey sausage) and used it to pour over the shells. I stuffed them with the cheese mixture. I used ricotta on half and cottage cheese on the other half. It was yummy! My husband loved the cottage cheese ones, I loved the ricotta ones. Froze the left overs too! Next time I will double the cheese mixtures to use all the shells, I think without the meat in the shells it was wasn't enough stuffing for all the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burns Harbor, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Love this for sure! Instead of the spaghetti sauce from a jar, I used the pumpkin chipotle pasta sauce from here. They complemented each other perfectly. The spiciness of the sauce went really well with the stuffing. Great dinner, great recipe! Thank you very much, Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
My family loved it, including my picky children. Followed the recipe, except I used the Spaghetti Sauce recipe instead of jarred sauce, fresh spinach, and drained the grease prior to adding the salt, pepper, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Merchant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These were absolutely delicious! Only thing I did different was I only had a 16 oz. jar of sauce, so I added a can of diced tomatoes to it along with a pinch of Italian Seasoning and Hot Pepper Flakes to add a little heat. My family raved!!! Thanks for this fairly easy and tasty recipe, I will be making it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Yum! This is a great recipe. I used ground beef instead of turkey, but kept everything else the same. I liked the mushrooms in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe was so easy to follow! I followed it exactly, and the shells came out so amazing! There was enough shells to fill a 9X13 pan and also a smaller 2 quart baking dish! The shells were yummy, cheesy and delicious. My 6 year old even ate them up, spinach and mushrooms and all (he is such a picky eater too). Love this recipe! Will definitely continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Yummy! I only gave it 4 stars because I made two changes. I used 1 c ricotta and 1 c cottage cheese in place of 2 c's cottage cheese. I used low fat on both to try and cut down on some calories. I also used fresh spinach instead of frozen because I was making this right after work for dinner. This would have made more than 1 9x13 dish, but I had several broken shells so I only got a full 9x13 dish full of this delightfulness. My 16 yo daughter said these were awesome! Oh, I did add about a teaspoon or so of garlic salt to the ground turkey while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Daigle Tabone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
These were delicious! Did not make many changes... I omitted the mushrooms and parsley. These were so healthy and satisfying. I served them with steamed green beans. I added some of the extra sauce from the shells to the beans and it was the perfect pairing. Great! Will 100% make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie stamps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
These were FANTASTIC.. my son said they tasted just like the stuffed caneloni at Olive Garden! I added a few extra shells (out of a 2nd box) but didn't need them. The filling was just enough for one whole box, depending on how full you stuff them.. I stuffed them pretty full. I filled a 13x9 pan and a small casserole dish. I did have a problem with liquid at the bottom. And I made sure the pasta was dry and patted all the liquid out of the spinach. I'm guessing maybe just the covering with foil may have been the reason for it.. condensation while it's cooking maybe. The cheese probly would have gotten overcooked had I not covered it tho. Next time I may cook uncovered and either take my chances on over cooked cheese OR, just not put it on till 15 mins before it's done. All in all.. even with the liquid.. it was GREAT! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Everybody loves these at our house! I didn't have turkey so used ground beef instead and made sure they were covered in plenty of sauce. Otherwise, followed the recipe. They stay moist cooking with the foil on. I took it off at the end and added the mozzarella to melt for a few more minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States