Stuffed Shells IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This was AWESOME. I did change a few things as recommended. Added 2 tablespoons of Italian Seasoning, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper & 1/2 tsp Oregano to turkey meat. Also, instead of cottage cheese, I did 1 cup low fat cottage cheese & 1 cup ricotta. Made sure to drain and dry out spinach and shells because I saw others experienced watery consistancy. Turned out perfect!!! Big hit with family and did freeze extras as recommended. Yummie...this is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
We really loved this recipe! The only changes I made were for personal preference on taste... I omitted the mushrooms and diced up a green pepper in its place. I reduced the parmesan cheese to about 3/4 cup, and added italian seasoning, per other reviewers. I love tomatoes, so I drained a can of diced tomatoes to add to the filling. Hubby and I both agreed it was the perfect addition!! Then I baked it for 30 min covered without the cheese and then added the cheese and baked for another 10 min uncovered. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Fantastic! I'm a big fan of stuffed pasta dishes, and I was really pleased with the way this one turned out. There's only two in my household, so I just put enough shells to fill an 8-inch baking dish and covered them with a small jar of spaghetti sauce. I took the suggestion of freezing the extra stuffed shells on a cookie sheet, then I put them all into a ziploc bag. Now I can have stuffed shells ready whenever I want! THank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnguy55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This is excellent! Husband and kids all loved it. I added 1 package of "good seasons italian seasoning" to the meat mixture, per the comment of another user. It was fantastic. One thing: you dry the noodles off a bit before stuffing them to prevent the dish from becoming soupy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
The correct amount of spinach in this recipe is 1 (10 ounce) package. We apologize for the confusion and inconvenience. We hope this helps! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Made this recipe for dinner with relatives and they loved it (including a 2 year old)! A few small changes: used fresh parsley (3 tbsp), added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, used part skim ricotta instead of cottage cheese since I had it on hand. I made sure to really squeeze the spinach, and strained the liquid after cooking the veggies and ground turkey. I made it in the morning, put it in the fridge and pulled it out for dinner. Worked great! I'm so glad I have another tray in the feezer! I will make this again and again...worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN JOHNSON-SUSKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
It seemed like it would taste like cannelloni, and it did! One bite and I was in heaven; and there was no where near the mess in the kitchen that my old "traditional" cannelloni recipe made. I added 1/2 tsp oregano, increased the spinach to 16 oz, used extra lean (5% fat) ground beef, and a little less of the cheeses, substituting part-skim mozzarella and fat-free cottage cheese. Thanks, Barbara, for this wonderful taste trip down memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I love to cook, and this recipe was too much work (and in my opinion, too expensive) for the finished product. We thought it was alright, but nothing special - Stuffed Shells III from this site remains our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These shells were very good. I loved the stuffing. Only change made was 1 cup ricotta and 1 cup cottage cheese (vs. 2 cups cottage cheese). I also topped with 1/2 the mozz. and 1/2 asiago for a bit more flavor. Very good. I'll def. make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci
Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I do not like reviewing recipes that I have changed. Having said that I will now offer my opinion. This was very very good after a few modifications. Adding seasonings (2T italian and 1t oregano) as well as doubling the garlic was a start. I subbed Fat Free ricotta for the cottage cheese and otherwise followed the directions. I have about 3 more meals in the freezer now. My son, who is 4, ate 3 of the shells. I only ate 2. I could not belive how he gobbled up this dish with spinach and mushrooms! I am still in shock and can't wait to share this with the moms in my wednesday group! Thanks for the great recipe and please don't hesitate to try this! The prep can be shared with kids and then they eat a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnorsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States