Stuffed Shells IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
THIS WAS THE BEST STUFFED SHELLS I HAVE EVER TASTED!!!... MY ONLY PROBLEM WAS THAT THE TOMATO SAUCE OVERPOWERED THE WOUNDERFUL FLAVOR OF THE STUFFING IN THE SHELLS. MY SUGGESTION WOULD BE TO USE A SAUCE WITH A VERY MILD FAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This recipe was excellent for an Italian alternative! Loved the spinach!! Prep work took some time, but that's what makes cooking fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
The preperation took a lot longer than noted in the recipe. It was more like an hour of prep time than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
I planned ahead and prepared the filling a day before. It was great. As I prepared it I loved the smell of the filling and when it all came together it was great. My household loved it. This is something I'm going to have to cook more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
This was wonderful, but I'm hoping someone can answer a question: At what point can you freeze these? Freeze with or without the sauce? Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
These are very good. I did alter it a bit by adding non-fat sour cream (for zing) and of course I used non-fat cottage cheese to make it as healthy as it was flavorful. I agree with a previous reviewer that you need to watch the amount of tomato sauce as it will overpower the mild flavors of the filling. There is also no need for a full 8oz. of mozzarella cheese – half of that is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
The taste was pretty good but way TOO MUCH Spinach. I only bought 5 packages (16oz.) of spinach and still had to discard about 2 cups. 3 packages (16oz.) would be sufficient. This should have been called spinach stuffed shells for all the spinach lovers since you don't get very much turkey or any other flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I have to wonder if the 10 packages of spinach was a misprint because I don't see how you could possibly fit all of that spinach plus the other ingredients into one package of shells. Regardless, I only used one package of spinach which worked out fine. The dish was a big hit with my gang; especially my hubby who loved the fact that the shells contained meat. A big green salad and some nice crusty homemade Italian bread completed this tasty dinner. Thanks Barbara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
The correct amount of spinach in this recipe is 1 (10 ounce) package. We apologize for the confusion and inconvenience. We hope this helps! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM ......This was a wonderful recipe!! It did take a little time to prepare, but well worth it. A big hit with the family. This is a definate keeper in the recipe book :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States